So close, but still a trip away!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
April 6th 2009
Published: April 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Let's see here. Another 32 days or so 'til we leave for our little-over-a-month trip. It's sorta like today is the start of an equally long trip, and when we actually leave is the end of the trip of waiting for the trip. That makes hardly any sense, haha.

Anyways-- things have definitely progressed since the last time I posted. Evan and I have gathered a few things that we need for the trip, we've made lists of what we want to bring, and we've both done a mock packing to see what we have and don't have. Additionally, I got a few goodies for my car installed to add to the trip (and my car). A tow hitch, a brush guard, and a CB radio. The tow hitch and brush guard are mostly for off roading in case I get stuck or someone else need's unstucking. The CB radio though should come in handy for both off roading and traveling in general. Listening in to the random chatter, road hazard warnings, and hearing where all the police are in the area are great benefits.

In additional to the new goodies, I got my new tires (I didn't realize just how worn my old ones were, not only was the tread under 1/16th of an inch, I got the same all-terrain tires and the tread is nearly an inch, haha!) and the Durango has been to the shop, the only issue was a ball joint had warn out, so nothing big. In the next week or two I'm going to get the tires re-aligned and get my car inspected since that is due in June.

The trip itself has progressed as well. We may be picking up an old friend in Michigan to come along with us on the trip. It'd be cool to have a third guy, but I don't know if he'll be able to go our not. We also have a few places we can stay along our trip. A really good friend of mine from Seattle, Washington said we can spend a night at his house and he'll provide a hot meal, beds, showers, and laundry. Everything we need! Another friend in Southern California said we can spend a night at his place, then we probably have a place in Austin, Texas to stay. Evan's one lady-friend lives there. I'm working on going through my network of friends and family and seeing who lives not around Pennsylvania, and trying to see if we can stay with them for a night or so.

So, that's what's gone on since the last time I posted, I'll probably throw one more post on before we leave. Hopefully we don't get any snags before then!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb