Getting down to the wire


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My passport is back, with visas. Cambodia is only issuing single entry visas right now, so no Laos for me this trip--I don't want to risk not getting back into Cambodia. I have hotels. I do not yet know exactly how I'll get from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh, but have several options.

Over the next 3 days, I'll be packing, getting my prescriptions filled, making sure my classes are organized before I leave, grading, putting together professional and travel documents, communicating with the universities in Phnom Penh and Hanoi, and distributing my itinerary.

Suggestions from my colleagues who have recently returned from the region: Pack an ethernet cord, register with the US consulate, prepare for cold and rain in Hanoi, and buy a mask when I get to Hanoi (given my asthma and the current air quality).

I leave on the 28th; after that there will be maps and photos.

Advertisement



23rd January 2009

Bon Voyage!
I knew you were travelling soon, but this really snuck up on me. I hope it's a great, productive trip. Thanks for blogging it - I will follow along. Let me know if there is anything we can do to help from this end!
24th January 2009

Wow!
Wow Shoshana, this sounds like an amazing trip! I wish you the best, and will be watching from home.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb