Planes, Trains, and Automobiles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Traveling is tiring. As my title indicates (well, partially) getting to London was an ordeal. First of all I started off in Greenville at home. Oh, and let me tell you about what happened. I accidentally chose the wrong date (2 days too late) for my departure flight out of the Charlotte airport to get to DC and so I had to get the ticket changed. It was going to cost me $105ish to do such a thing but I actually found a ticket that cost less than that so I got that one. Anyways, so my mom drove me to Charlotte to catch my plane up to BWI. From BWI I had to hop on the MARC train to get to Union Station. Once in DC I only had a brief window of time in which I needed to meet up with one of the people who, last semester, did the fellowship I am currently doing.

After meeting up with that fellow I got back onto the Metro and headed out to West Falls Church where there is a bus that goes out to Dulles airport. I just missed the bus and had to wait about 20 or so minutes. Then I boarded the bus and made my way out to Dulles. That is where I met up with Valerie. We had a burger at some restaurant in the airport and made our way to London.

Some of you may ask me, “Buck, why didn’t you just get a flight directly to Dulles?” to which my response would be, “If I had gotten that flight direct, this would have been a really boring blog entry and at least this way I may have elicited some emotions from you.” Am I right? Okay maybe it was a stretch. The moral of the story is I used many forms of transportation to get where I needed to go and it was exhausting. By the way, can I even call that the moral of the story? I don’t think so. There was no moral about it, only me complaining a bit attempting to gain some sympathy from anyone willing to give it. Whatever, London…



Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb