As Seen from the Train


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 19th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Travel by train isn't too bad if you have some time to devote to it. I'd advise taking along a camera, an mp3 player, some books or magazines, games or playing cards and earplugs. On the way to Iowa the guy in the seat right behind me snored. And not in a normal annoying snore way but tons worse. I actually had earplugs in and I still heard this guy. I jumped awake as soon as he started because I was sure someone on the train was dying. It sounded like someone was trying to desperately breathe through liquid-filled lungs. Dude, if you're out there? Get that checked out. The only people who should sound like that are people who are dying.
On the plus side, it made every snorer I encountered after that just a mere buzzing noise in the background.
There were a lot of college kids on the train out. Lots of them going through those pretentious college phases. One girl was in her "hippie" phase and she made me laugh every time. They were all super nice though.
Met the cutest little girl ever in Galesburg. She was not shy, that's for sure. And she was so excited about going on the train. Hilarious. Most of the kids were pretty well behaved, and I didn't notice too much fussing.
I took a ton of books and magazines but I spent most my time just watching the scenery go by. I really enjoyed the vast sections of land that had nothing on them but mountains or crops or grass or dirt. There were quite a few towns by the tracks too, many of them sporting quite beautiful houses and a few country clubs. Gives new meaning to "the wrong side of the tracks." At some point in Missouri I saw a little section with ugly house, nasty house, trashed house, gorgeous mansion, barn, barn, trash house, cute ranch, crappy tavern. All up next to each other in a small section. What gives?
I got to experience "Captive Audience Phenomenon" too. Nothing like a long trip with no place to escape to make you available to be a free therapist to a few crazies.
Most of the trip was gorgeous and sunny, with some areas of storminess. I did get my lightning storm but I missed seeing the tornado.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb