Amtrak Cross the USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 16th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Coach SeatsCoach SeatsCoach Seats

Southwest Chief
My mom and I used Amtrak to get from Los Angeles to Iowa this last week. Quite the event. I don't really recommend the train for impatient people. By the end of my trip I just wanted to hide and never speak to or hear from another person again. Still, it is a good form of transport. Tons better than driving. Less aggravating than the plane. Plus, I got to see a lot of great scenery.

We started in Fullerton and rode the Southwest Chief through Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, Kansas and Missouri. Then there was a layover in Galesburg, Illinois where I discovered the best restaurant ever! If you're ever near Galesburg go to the Landmark Cafe on Seminary Street. Then there was a short ride from Galesburg to Osceola, Iowa on the California Zephyr. (and by short I mean a 4 hour train ride that turned into a 4 hour ride and 2 hour "sit around and go nowhere" train ride)

The last time I took Amtrak cross the USA (basically the same route only to Chicago) it was 14 years ago and it was a hideous experience. I had incredibly low expectations for this ride and
Dining RoomDining RoomDining Room

Southwest Chief
was pleasantly surprised. The staff were all super nice, although I sensed a lot of irritation when they had to deal with people who were rude or couldn't follow basic directions. The food was quite tasty and reasonably priced. The seats in coach were roomy and comfortable for everything but sleeping. Although most people didn't have problems. Guess i just don't like sleeping upright.

Now I am home. I haven't seen a person for the last 12 hours and it's been very nice. I'm looking forward to sleeping in a bed too.

Iowa was fabulous though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Sightseeing CarSightseeing Car
Sightseeing Car

Southwest Chief
StairsStairs
Stairs

Southwest Chief
Bathroom HallBathroom Hall
Bathroom Hall

Southwest Chief
BathroomBathroom
Bathroom

Southwest Chief
Cafe carCafe car
Cafe car

Southwest Chief
Coach SeatsCoach Seats
Coach Seats

Southwest Chief


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb