Summer in the Sierra


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Harsh livingHarsh livingHarsh living

This is the landscape of the High-Alpine Emigrant Wilderness
It's been a great summer surveying the mountain lakes of the Emigrant and Sierra Nevada Mountain Ranges. On my days off I've been bagging a lot of peaks and before my accident I was climbing as much as I could.

A recent fall off my longboard has put me out of commision for climbing and carrying a pack heavy enough to need a waist belt. I had to miss the last tour into the backcountry do to my injuries, so I have been working on a restoration project. Which is the Fish Erratication of Matlock and Slim Lakes. The Mountain Yellow-Legged Frog is a tadpole for two years, which means they need to be in bodies of water that are deep enough to remain unfrozen over winter, and that is the same criteria for their main predator; the Fish. So they have designated a few lakes to be Frog Lakes and are working to erratic all the fish from the area. Using an electro-fisher we walk up and down the inlets and outlets stunning fish and then capturing them when they float to the surface. Very interesting and strange work. It seems to be working because the frog population has
Electro-FisherElectro-FisherElectro-Fisher

Awkward and heavy...Some very strange work
grown tremendously.

In other news, I have recently decided to take a position with the Mammoth Mountain Ski Patrol. I will be heading to Colorado in October to pick up my skis and snow tires and then I am headed back to the Sierras. These mountains have captivated me all summer and now they seem to have captured me.

So...its time for all of you to check out the Sierras and come ski at Mammoth. Its a great mountain. And I have been doing the snow dance, so don't be worried.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

SierrasSierras
Sierras

The Sierras are so amazing...This is why I can't leave
Ouch!!Ouch!!
Ouch!!

I was longboarding down the Chipmunk Mine road, the pavement wasnt very good so I had trouble slowing down...ouch
Brother and SisterBrother and Sister
Brother and Sister

Sarah and I with Humphreys in the Background
Cherry CreekCherry Creek
Cherry Creek

This was during one of my tours. We surveyed the lakes around this, usually raging river. In the Spring it's actually an Adventure Kayaking Mecca. It's so popular because of the glacially polished granite. Last years low snowpack created a lot of dry conditions.
Leighton DomeLeighton Dome
Leighton Dome

Some days working the Emigrant we would take off a little time to bag a peak. This is one of those days on top of Leighton Dome.
Gorging FishGorging Fish
Gorging Fish

This is exactly what we are trying to get rid of. little fish with big appetites. This RT is mutated from all the tadpoles and insects he ate.
BoingBoing
Boing

This is Sarah lead climbing Boing, a 5-10a, in the Patricia Bowl area.
BOYOYOINGBOYOYOING
BOYOYOING

A better view of Boing
ButtermilksButtermilks
Buttermilks

World class bouldering ten minutes from Sarah and Jeff's place...nice...
The officeThe office
The office

This is my office. Independence Peak
The Flume TrailThe Flume Trail
The Flume Trail

On one break I went to Lake Tahoe with Sarah and did some mountain biking.
Flume TrailFlume Trail
Flume Trail

Sarah is competing in the 24hrs. at Moab so she has been on her bike alot. I haven't bought a bike yet so I only get to ride with her when a friend is hurt or can't ride.
BaileyBailey
Bailey

The trail-master Bailey


17th September 2007

FUN
It looks like you are having a great time. I am very excited for you getting a job at mammoth, but I am also VERY sad.....now we will never see you....6 hrs was hard enough....20 hrs (?) is bad....

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb