Casper


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming
May 18th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi

Well I made it to Casper around 10.30pm (17th) and I got picked up by my friend Marcus' dad; the aiport is 12 miles north west of the town of 50,000 people, and between the two, there are lots of oil fields and related industries that have been going for most of the 20th century onwards.
I am staying in their basement which is, essentially a subterreanan apartment which is absolutely huge and you could easily could fit all of my terraced house floor space down there. Despite the remoteness and small population of Casper, there are alot of small, interesting museams and attractions to visit. I went to a local wildlife museam to see what kind of animals frequent these lands, grizzly bears and black bears and mountain goats to name a few and then on to the art museam which exhibits alot of works from local artists and students at the University of Wyoming which is in Larimie!
I also bought a stetson style hat to keep the sun off my kneck and eyes, as the sun is blinding and the air is clean and very dry around here. I am also growing plenty of stubble to enhance the overall effect just as in Sergei Leoni films - Good, Bad and the Ugly style.

Tommorow I think I will take in the Casper College geology museam which is near the base of Casper mountains (~8600 feet above sea level), part of the Laramie range with Laramie peak at 10,272 feet. Casper is on a flat plain around 5300 feet above sea level in centre of Wyoming. There is quite alot of mining in Wyoming for coal (open cast) and a few mines for Uranium.
Saturday i am hoping to go flying with Marcus dad to somewhere else in Wyoming, in his 4 seater aircraft and then Marcus should arrive in Saturday night before our drive across the state to Yellowstone and Montana can begin!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb