The Tetons, Wind River, and Classic Wyoming


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming
September 20th 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cold again last night...I have a 35 degree bag...And it is not getting the job down...I am always trying to be minimal sometimes to a fault...So I wake up cold in the middle of the night and never really fully go back to sleep at this stage...

Down out to the main highway and turned south...Bam...The Tetons are rising up to the Heavens...They are one of the most majestic mountain ranges in the whole US. Finally, warming up during the day...Snap some pictures of the peaks and then get out of the tourist traffic and head up Union Pass to the Headwaters of the Green River....

The Wind was blowing up top...The road up was pure washboard...Making for a rough climb on the bike. Then we leveled off up high and the dirt road was outstanding...The headwaters of the Green river was awesome before dropping into Pinedale.

Weather was so nice I pulled in a Brewery to right a few post cards and sample the local brew. Everything was flattening out now in Wyoming...The roads were like dirt interstates...I am taking going 70-80 miles an hour on hard packed dirt...This is great till you go over a riser and your back tire comes loose sending you into a death wobble at 70 mph+...Thank God everything is open range in Wyoming because then you go flying off the road through the perfectly graded ditch till you bring the bike under control in the sagebrush and thank God again that most of Wyoming is open range without barb-wire!!!

Overall, Wyoming is awesome for dirtbikes...


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The Road...The Road...
The Road...

Headwaters of the Green River
Land of TrailsLand of Trails
Land of Trails

California Trail, Mormon Trail, Oregon Trail, and Pony Express...I think of myself as the Pony Express moving out fast...


4th October 2007

Sweeeeet, you're in my old stomping ground now! I fished the Green River back in the summer of '97 when I was pretending, poorly, to be an outdoorsman... sleeping in a tent in the Elk Refuge while showering down at the Jackson Athletic Club. And I hope you thought of Clint Eastwood's bare-knuckle brawl from "Any Which Way You Can"! ps: I'm sure your poor mother loves reading about "70mph death wobbles"... nice, 'Stabon.
6th October 2007

Zach is right! I just LOVE reading about "70 mph death wobbles" --but truly glad to know you're thanking God for safety bec I sure am!!! I know he's riding on your shoulder! Mom

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 71; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb