CCMA - Day 8


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Sheridan
September 14th 2012
Published: September 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We left Hot Springs just before 8 am and rode to Custer, South Dakota where we stopped for breakfast. Went through Wind Cave National Park again and this time the bison got up close and personnel, they were in the road – we drove about 4 feet away from them, it was amazing



A note about tense; I am taking a page out of Jenine’s book and trying to update this journal whenever I get a chance, instead of waiting until the evening. Some entries will probably be in the present tense and others in the past tense, I will attempt to be consistent, but when I am not, I apologize.



Speaking of keeping a journal – this netbook I borrowed from Cassidy has been a lifesaver, I use it constantly to book rooms, plan our route, look up information, and of course keep this Journal, I am very thankful to Cassidy for letting me borrow it, but now that I am carrying it everywhere, I wish that it didn’t have a purple case.

We stopped in Custer, South Dakota for breakfast. I was confused by the menu because at the top of the menu in bold print they had a special with two eggs, meat, toast and hash browns for $8.99, but if you ordered the eggs, meat and hash browns separately, it cost $6.50. I asked the waiter if that was correct and he told me yes and that most people don’t notice and order the $8.99 version. And I thought New Yorkers were slick.



We made a quick stop at Jewel Cave National Monument outside Custer for another stamp.



The ride from Custer to Devils Tower National Monument via rt. 16 was another great ride through gorgeous scenery. We are getting spoiled, I don’t know what we are going to do when we get back and spend most of our time riding in New Jersey. What a let down that will be.



We took a 50 mile detour to see Devil’s Tower National Monument, it was worth the effort. We didn’t stay very long because we had a lot of ground to cover to get to Billings. Montana.



We stopped for lunch in Moorcroft, Wyoming at The Hub. We decided that we wouldn’t make it to Billings and reserved a room in Sheridan.



As we rode from Devil’s Tower to Sheridan, Wyoming it became even more sparsely populated – as in there ain’t nothin for as far as you can see - which is pretty damn far. Watching Bill’s and Rick’s reaction to seeing all of this for the first time is one of the highlights of the trip for me. It sortta reminds me of the first time Cassidy tasted chocolate – it was like a whole new world opened up for her.



We saw the Rocky Mountains today for the first time.



We arrived in Sheridan a little after 6 pm. Bill and I went to Wal-Mart to pick up some snacks. I paid with a one hundred dollar bill and the cashier counted out $90 in change, but only handed me a 50, a 20 and a 10. When I pointed this out to her she apologized and gave me another 10. I guess I’ll never know if it was an honest mistake or she was trying to increase her take-home pay.



After we settled into the room we finished the run and vodka, as we didn’t eat any dinner, the drinks went right to our heads.

Advertisement



15th September 2012

Great Fun
Welcome back to the West.... (again) pics are great - like to see ones with you guys included - and you're right - have struggled with it for years.... cannot describe the awesome scenery, nor do the pictures do it justice.... thanks for blogging - really enjoying it!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb