Saratoga, Wyoming today, 68 miles / 2621 Total


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Saratoga
July 12th 2018
Published: July 13th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


After a better nights sleep, I enjoyed a good breakfast at the River Rock Cafe in Walden, Colorado and jumped on the bike for Saratoga, Wyoming.

It is always exciting to anticipate entering another State. This will be my seventh state since leaving Yorktown, Va.

To Review:
Virginia, Kentucky,Illinois, Missouri, Kansas and Colorado.

As I left Walden, I was back on the chip seal road. My hope was that when I entered Wyoming the roads would improve.

Unfortunately that was a pipe dream. Only the name of the State is different.

My ride today was through huge ranches with lots of grazing cattle and an occasional home and barn.

There are few trees along the Wyoming 230 Highway.

After crossing the border at the 21 mile point, I continued a lonely 25 more miles to Riverside,(population 52), which is basically a tiny place that caters to the sports enthusiasts along the Encampment River.

The town of Encampment is just a couple of miles south of Riverside. It is struggling to stay alive after becoming a boom town in 1896 when Copper was discovered nearby.

By 1908 the population was over 2000 and over two million in Copper was mined there.

Now the population is 450 and the town survives by being a destination for Hunters and Fisherman.

I had a wonderful lunch at the Bear Trap Cafe.

That replenishment gave me the energy to buck the headwinds another 18 miles up to Saratoga.

I am taking another scheduled day off here.

I’m glad I scheduled this because I really need to rest and stretch tomorrow. I’m getting a bit stiff from being hunched over the handlebars for so many days in a row.

I finished my day with a couple of IPA’s and a great meal at the Firewater Public House

Tomorrow I will have a chance to explore this interesting town.





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



13th July 2018

Go Bob
Amazing Bob. Sometimes those horrible roads just won’t disappear ??‍♀️ Just keep pedaling, you’re making great progress...

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb