45 tough miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Moran
July 18th 2018
Published: July 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My advice to anyone attempting the Trans America Bicycle Ride is to go West to East!

I thought I read the blogs, and researched it pretty well.

But now that I have been riding my bike for over two months East to West, I can tell you with certitude that the prevailing wind is out of the West!

I have faced headwinds all but twice!

Today was another very difficult day thanks to the strong Westerly winds.

I was prepared and even excited to be going over another mountain pass into Colter Bay in the Tetons.

However, the 15 mph winds right in my face from the very start made the ride devistatingly slow. I simply wasn’t mentally ready for another day like this!

As a result, I simply ran out of energy and stopped for the day 25 miles short of Colter Bay at a Campground 8 miles before Moran.

The scenery was magnificent and I tried to enjoy it, but I must admit the strong winds really fouled my mood!

I have no shower! But at least I can rest for the day.

I am turning two days into three to shorten the distances.

If the wind keeps blowing like this, I can put up with it if I know the time on the bike will be shorter than it has been of late.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



18th July 2018

winds
So sorry man! As we have discussed, headwinds are the worst and you were smart to stop short. Mental attitude is paramount and the winds totally wear us down.
19th July 2018

Prevailing Winds
Sorry to hear of the wind issue. We battled them daily... so as Dee and I said daily “THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS PREVAILING WINDS” somehow the wind manages to put a damper on the day. But you keep going Bob, you’re almost done... I’m proud of you ...
19th July 2018

Beautiful pictures
Wow dad! You are riding through some truly awe-inspiring, beautiful scenery now. Sorry the ride has been tough as of late, but keep up the amazing work!! Can’t wait to see more :) xo Bre

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb