Gillette to Jackson WY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Jackson
September 8th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another day and another 500 or so miles in the book. I was not really looking forward to another long day behind the wheel, but man was I wrong. I took highway 16 out of Buffalo and what a drive!!! I went through the Ten Sleep Canyon and later the Wind River Canyon. These were amazing views on the road. I hated to drive, I wanted to look to much. You can really tell where the developments are along the road. Most of the land is brown, but when you come over a hill and see all the green vegetation you know there is civilization. 16 takes you through the Big Horn National Forest and tops out at over 9,600 feet. You then descend down through the the Ten Sleep Canyon. I also drove by the world's largest hot springs in Thermopolis. Some of the tall peaks still have snow on the tops. The descent down into Grand Tetons National Park was amazing when you come around bend after bend and are rewarded with the views of the mountain range. As I was leaving the park, I passed a small group of bison. I can't think of an animal that symbolizes the west any better than the bison.
I am spending the night in Jackson WY. The town is pretty neat. The sidewalks are made of wooden planks. One of the best known parts of the town is the gates made out of deer horns in its park. Pretty neat to see a ski slope from the main street of town. There are some great ski slopes in the area.
I am driving up to Yellowstone Tuesday and will actually get to stay in one city for a few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb