Milwaukee Madness


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well I was supposed to leave at like 7:30am or something and arrive in downtown Milwaukee at 10. That didn't happen. I went to International Mister Leather the night before and woke up at 9:30. Immediately after a new train ticket was booked and I would arrive in Milwaukee around noon.

I took the Amtrak which ended up being completely reasonable to get there. However, there were a lot of people on the train. Like, a lot.

Milwaukee



The weather could not be nicer in Milwaukee. It is sunny an beautiful here. I am starving. I end up going to Capriotti's Sandwich Shop. It looks like a mom and pop kind of place but apparently it's a franchise. I ask whether I should get the veggie sub or the veggie cheeseburger. The owner says more people get the veggie sub but he personally recommends the cheeseburger. OK. I order the cheeseburger. It is nothing short of fantastic. Definitely hits the spot.

From food, I walked to the art museum.


The art museum was ok. I liked it - my favorite part was the glass sculpture in the lobby.

From the art museum, I walked around downtown. I looked at the city hall building, the Pabst Theater and the Public Library. The architecture was very ornate and very midwestern. Since it was such a nice day, it made for a pleasant walk. At one point, I walked along the riverwalk. The riverwalk is interesting because at some points you walk right through dining areas of restaurants. If it weren't for the signs suggesting you to continue through the dining area, it would be awkward. From the riverwalk, I walked along Milwaukee Avenue. It was also a very nice walk although at this point, I'm starting to sweat. I walked through Marquette campus which is very nice. It made me consider going to law school here but then I thought about the winters and quickly reconsidered it. There were also some very nice churches along this avenue and the Wisconsin Club which looked like a place lots of people go to get married.


Pabst Mansion


This was cool. I was the last person to arrive for the last tour at 3pm. The tour guide was a nutter. It was a very cool tour and a very ornate building. The gift shop used to be a beer garden and full restoration is in the works. At one point during the tour, I had to excuse myself because there was no air conditioning and it was very warm. I got sick. I loved the paintings and the original tchotchkes.

My friend picked me up shortly after. We ate and ended up going to La Cage with some friends. I ended up dancing in the 10 foot elevated cage. I missed a full on drag queen brawl. I caught the very end when they were getting removed from the club.


Lake Okauchee


My friend rented a pontoon to spend the day out on Lake Okauchee. We got a full keg for the day. Even though by the end of the day, I was pretty sober - there were times that I needed to take a break. The water was amazing. The weather was even more amazing. It was one girl, 3 gays guys and 7 breeder boys. Still fun.

Shenanigans:


I got lots of sun and was a little sunkissed after this expedition.

Brewery & Brewery


Sprecher Brewery was awesome. I really liked the tour and the beers. Plus, you get to keep your glass after the tasting. My favorite was the Scotch Ale. I think this is the point when I declare it my favorite beer, spoken like a true alcoholic. Anyway, the beers were so good that I decided to buy a 6 pack from the gift shop - gotta love Wisconsin. One of the beers I purchased was Mbege. It was made with banana juice which was very intriguing to me. However, the taste was so disgusting that I could not stomach it and had to put it down the sink. I have never had to do this before and hope that I never have to again.

Rock Bottom
I went here to meet up with an old Boy Scout friend. I got the Margherita pizza and of course beer. This was a very nice location right along the river but it did get a little chilly by the end of the night. By the end of this 2 hour dinner, I was slightly drunk. This made for an interesting walk to the MegaBus stop.




Advertisement



27th March 2011

It sounds like you had an awesome time! I also enjoyed the Sprecher Brewery, totally awesome! If you ever return I would highly recommend the Iron Horse Hotel, stayed there last time it was wonderful! http://www.theironhorsehotel.com/

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb