The gears are back but the psyche is gone


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 47 Wheeling, WV to Washington, PA
Total Miles: 31.5 (3273.8 miles to date)

Well today started off gloomy and raining hard as severe thunderstorms moved through the area. It really wasn't an issue for us since we had to wait until 11am for the bike shop to open. We eventually got to the bike shop and they did have the shifter I needed. My shifter was not able to be repaired and so I had to get a whole new one. The bike tech told me that I had shifted one time too many. At that point I didn't care what the reason was, I just wanted to start riding again.
Based on the mileage stated above you see that the desire to ride again was not as strong as I imagined. By the time we were done with the bike shop and had done some riding again and had lunch it was like 4 or 5 pm. If we rode until dark we probably could have done like 70 miles or so but while thinking about if I actually wanted to ride until dark I started consuming endless amounts of Italian ice and other treats at a Rita's and the verdict came in: I'm not riding anymore today, at all!

The reasoning was this: I can accept the fact that if I get on my bike at 7am then I will surely be riding all day long, but if I am not on my bike until well after noon, I cannot motivate or see the point in riding. So the end result today was, we basically got nowhere, but we did make it into Pennsylvania for the start of PennDOT's Bike Route "S" which it states is 332 miles from end to end. (More on that later, I am writing all of these at once so there may be information that already happened or that I know in here)

Short entry for a short day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb