Definition


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
March 12th 2013
Published: March 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

COMPLACENCY



1: self-satisfaction especially when accompanied by unawareness of actual dangers or deficiencies. 2: an instance of usually unaware or uninformed self-satisfaction. I feel the need to address title of my blog and give a little back story. I have come to a point in my life where I need a change. A break from the boring 9-5 cubicle jungle. And I need a change of scenery.

I hated my job. It was mindless, unfulfilling and downright awful at times. We all get stuck in a rut in our lives and for whatever reason we keep doing things we always did. Failing to break away from the monotony. For many people, living the life I created would be enough. But I cannot and would not be okay staying here doing the same terrible job.

Last year around this time I made three goals and they have ALL come true. I worked my ass off and sacrificed a lot of things to do so. I lost a serious amount of weight and am in better shape than I have been in almost 10 years. I learned a great deal of things from volunteering my time as an ESL teacher. And the most important is that I am fulfilling my dream to travel. I depart exactly four weeks from now to Thailand. This was not my first option. I originally applied for the Peace Corps last March. Due to a minor health issue I was denied and to this day am still on appeal. Being the impatient person I am, I chose to go at this journey on my own. I did hours of research and finally chose Thailand as my destination. It is completely out of my comfort zone to travel halfway across the globe, especially by myself but at this point I can't wait for anyone else to join the party. I have to trudge ahead and do this for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb