T.I.T


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
May 4th 2013
Published: May 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Sorry for the delay in the updates on my blog. Internet here is slow and not always convenient to use. I have officially been in Thailand for 3 weeks and I have experienced and learned so much. My first stop in Bangkok was a complete and total overload. I saw and did things in three days it usually takes others a week. I saw four of the most well known temples: Wat Pho, Wat Arun, Golden Buddha and the Grand Palace. I got duped into a long tail boat ride and took a bunch of ferries across the river. I witnessed Songkran in full effect on Kaosan Road. On my way back from the Grand Palace, exhausted and sick of being ripped off I got lost. I walked a few miles on small streets getting drenched with water gun fire and white paste smeared all over my face. I finally reached my street and was nearly to my hotel when I was bombarded with a huge crowd. I was nearly trampled but I made it out and to my hotel. I left Bangkok feeling more assured of me and eager to see more.

I arrived in Phuket and made my way to a fellow blogger and couch surfer’s house. It was nice to relax and chill out but I still felt like I had to go-go-go like in Bangkok. Island life is much slower and so is the service here. After a night at Kristin’s listening to the wind howl, thunder crash and chickens crow all night I headed to another girls house. I met Christina outside her cute house in Bang Tao. She was very inviting and I immediately felt at ease. We immediately hopped on her scooter and set out to buy me an air mattress. Then we went to this amazing bar in a tree house on the beach! Yes, I said tree house bar on the beach. For the rest of the week we drank, dined and bonded. It was a whirlwind experience and we grew to know each other quite well.

I caught a cab still hung over from partying till 4am and maybe still drunk, over to Phuket Town. My home for the next month is at the Rongrawee Mansion. They should change the name to the Rongrawee dump though. I have had nothing but annoyance with the staff and service here but it’s close to school so I should not be so negative. My TEFL course is intense. I have hardly any free time and am also taking my final History course at the same time which means I am exhausted. The people at school are really great. A very diverse and unique group of people which I think I will make lasting relationships from.

This is my last weekend with my dear Kansas girl Christina. I will truly miss her company but am happy she is going to where her heart desires. I will make my way to see her in Italy or wherever she ends up once my time in Asia is over. Hopefully my liver can handle her last bash this weekend and my skin can heal from the awful burn I got last weekend.

Thailand is a magical and sometimes brutal place. There is a fine line between enjoying yourself and wanting to scream. I have each emotion daily! But I always remember…This Is Thailand (T.I.T.). Anything can happen and will. You just have to be ready for whatever may come your way J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb