Days 21-23 - Life on the island


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bookstore SignageBookstore SignageBookstore Signage

These are some of the signs in a bookstore in Port Thingamajig. I was particularly amused by the order.
Life on the island was good. I kinda just hung out, saw the sights and played with the kid. Easy enough!

My first day there I went over to Port somethin'-er-other to see the touristy stuff over there. We had pretty good pizza, awesome hot chocolate, and hit up a few stores. On the way back to the house we stopped off to see rosie the whale and rudy the dall's porpoise. Well, we saw their bones. Apparently, if an aquatic mammal beaches itself on Whidbey Island they like to hang up their skeleton. It was kinda neat, but weird at the same time. After that we got ice cream and then went home and crashed, enjoying the last kid free evening of my stay there.

The next day started off nice and lazy, at least for me. I hung around the house and we made molasses ginger cookies (mmmmmm......). Then we went to go pick up the kid (L). She definitely had that initial kid's shy reaction. You know, where you can read the "who the hell are you" on their face. Once I started swinging on the monkey bars w/ her it was all good. We finally
The Aquatic MammalsThe Aquatic MammalsThe Aquatic Mammals

That's Rudy on the right. I couldn't fit all of Rosie in. She's a whale, after all!
convinced her it was time to go (the other kids leaving kinda helped with that) and we headed home for dinner and hanging out w/ the kid. We drew pictures, played soccer and lots of hide-n-seek. I was a total rock star.

The last full day I was pretty much on my own until the afternoon, when I was swept up into the whirlwind of kid-dom. First we picked her up from school, then we went to get an emergency pseudo-hem put in some pants for that night's show. Then we went to soccer practice. That was kind of confusing for me b/c they don't really play games. It was non-competitive soccer. WTF? Anyway, after that we headed over to a park for a bit more playing and then a picnic. Once we finished that up we had just enough time to get back to the school for the big performance. Lil miss L had a solo!

Actually, she had more than a solo. She stopped the show w/ her request to use the restroom. Really, she's not a little diva! :p Once that was all done we headed over to her classroom, where she recieved her kindegarten
The CookiesThe CookiesThe Cookies

Molasses ginger wonderfulness!
diploma. Rock on!

A very tired quartet headed back home where we took a few pictures, I read some stories to L and we hit the hay. It had been a good few days. But I had to get going over to Minneapolis for the big apartment hunt, so I hit the hay.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The StarThe Star
The Star

You can't top Aesop's Fables, especially when L sings the part of the crow!
The GraduateThe Graduate
The Graduate

Look at that diploma!
Everyone elseEveryone else
Everyone else

There were more people on the island than L. Here's the rest of our little group. Photo credit: L


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb