The Blog Begins


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
May 13th 2005
Published: May 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hmm...Hmm...Hmm...

Pragmatism versus idealism: the struggle continues

Testes, uh, 1...2...uh...3?



This is pretty much just a test run to see if the travel blog works, how easy or difficult it is to get to it, etc. I have the reader's best interest in mind, believe me. If travelblog.org ends up being dumb, I'll switch, but it seemed comparable to the other blogserv sites, less crowded, and specifically designed with the traveler in mind.

Check, check...sibilance



Hmm...so, I'm about to embark on this journal of epic, Gilgameshian proportion, and I'm as excited and scared as I can be. I've done some traveling, as most of you know, but I've only really gone for month-long stints to countries where I spoke the language (at least tolerably). This is a year-long contract, and I speak Korean about as well as any Korean...any Korean that is also a household pet. I can't even say, "Polly wanna cracker," in Korean, so I'm already out to dry on that one.

Also, I have to jettison about all of my personal belongings in order to travel as lightly as possible. To give you an idea of shipping costs, the documentation for my working visa cost forty dollars U.S. Also, in order

of difficulty, I have to clean the house, put in final appearances with friends, straighten up my finances and bills, shave a rabid wolverine, and decide what among my personal belongings I can live without. The electric shaver and alarm clock, or the plastic Easter egg filled with fortune cookie fortunes?

These are tough decisions, people. At least I've gotten my shots for dealing with the wolverine.

Things are likely to get real damn busy real quick here, so I probably won't be back on the blog for a few days, and depending on how lazy I get, possibly until I get to Korea and get a decent digital camera.

Advertisement



17th May 2005

Hey hey hey!
It works! whoot! Your updation skills are at an all time high for newbs. Go you. Not boring, not too long, but not too short. Keep them like this and you'll be rollin. - Lauren
3rd June 2005

What's new?
Hi -- everyone is waiting breathlessly for your next installment... - Mom
1st August 2005

shave this
Hey buddy! Great blog...I agree with your mom what's next! Howz the weather? Are you making freinds. Have you adopted a Korean Wolverine? What is the morale of the youth you are teaching or are you teaching adults? In which case I am not so interested in their morale. :0) As I am the kid person. Wondering about the culture and your Darwin like abilities to adapt. Thinking about you and hoping all is well. You are loved and missed. Steph

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb