Friendless in Seattle?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
November 9th 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a quick trip north of the border to Vancouver I spent a few days in Seattle attending meetings and a tradeshow, seeing the sites, and reuniting with one of my old cafeteria friends from college.

After a quick trip north of the border to Vancouver I was back in Seattle. Driving in from the North I got a good view of downtown Seattle as I arrived in the city. My first impression was that it reminded me a lot of my home city of Minneapolis - only bigger, more hilly, without a river, and on the Pacific coast. So really I guess it didn't actually remind me of Minneapolis all that much.

I spent most of the first few days in meetings and out to dinner with co-workers but I did manage to make a little time to see the typical tourist sites of this city. I stopped by the Pike Place market and watched the guys working there throw fish to each other for a little while. Some of the Seahawks players dropped by and were signing autographs, only I didn't know who any of them were so I didn't bother to talk to them. Then I walked to the first Starbucks where they have never updated their logo on the sign (the original Starbucks logo is a brown, fattish mermaid-type creature). There were a lot of street performers around, including one guy who somehow managed to get an full-sized upright piano out on the sidewalk, though when I walked by he wasn't actually plaing it. I was kind of surprised though, as the crowd around the fish throwers and street performers was huge, I never actually saw anyone buy any fish. I wonder how the fish throwers actually stay in business. Who knows?

Later in the evening I managed to meet up with my friend CA. I met up with her at some bar that was a cab-ride out of downtown. As it turns out, one of her friends there was from Alaska. I thought this was a pretty interesting fact as I don't think I had ever actually met anyone from Alaska before. No one else seemed to think this was interesting at all. Apparently there are a lot of Alaskans in Seattle. I did not know this.

I spent the last few days in Seattle working out of my hotel and attending a trade show where my company was exhibiting. I met up with CA one more time and had dinner, and on my last morning in Seattle I actually saw the sun come out. I made my way to the top of the Space Needle, took a few pictures, and headed back to the airport.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Ferry Coming in to SeattleFerry Coming in to Seattle
Ferry Coming in to Seattle

Dirty Lens... yet again.
Window Seat MountainWindow Seat Mountain
Window Seat Mountain

Dirty x2 (lens and airplane window).


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb