Seattle!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
August 29th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a VERY long day yesterday, I made it into Seattle yesterday at 4 PM. A shuttle service was supposed to pick me up at 7:20 in Hollywood. I called them at 7:30 and they said they had no record of me, but that they would pick me up at 8 AM. At 8:30 I had to freak out and get a cab. You must understand, I had a 10AM flight and it takes 40 minutes to get to LAX. I was none to happy. A very nice cab driver was more than willing to hustle to LAX ($70 dollars later!!) but it was to late, I could not get on the flight. Luckily, Alaskan Airlines put me on standby and I got out of LA at 11:30 instead of 10AM. I made sure I called Super Shuttle and pretty much ripped them a new one. They got pretty much the entire brunt of my exhaustion!! Anyway, I'm all alone here in Seattle due to circumstances that I'm not going to get into. Lets just say when you know going into something that a person can't be trusted, well, 9 times out of 10, you can't have expectations for them to follow through. Either way Seattle is absolutely beautiful! It certainly helps when you have perfect weather. I got into the airport around 2:30 (which is about 13 miles south of the downtown area) and took a shuttle bus to my hotel. I'm staying very close to the Space Needle which is really cool. Seattle is the type of town where you can walk around and it won't take that long getting from place to place. There is the huge public market right on the water on 1st Ave. I felt completely safe walking around the city by myself late last night. Since I had no plans and was by myself, I decided to get a tickets to last nights Mariners Vs. Angels game. I am also going to go this afternoon, which was planned all along. I walked to the stadium (about 2 miles) and saw a lot of great things along the way. I found this fun Irish bar called Fado where they had a happy hour special of Guinness and "Seattle Sliders". They don't call Irish car bombs that name here, its the "Irish Settler" But everyone was doing a "settler". Afterwards, I kept walking to the stadium and went inside for the game. I had a bread bowl of chowder and ate it looking over the bay and the dowtown area. I sat in my seat and this older gentelmen and another guy came down and had the seats next to me. He says to me, " HEllo, I saw you at church last Sunday." I was confused and said, "OK?!" and then he said "How are you doing Joe". I said "OK?!" Then he says... "Did you get these seats from George?" I said... "No, I got them last night, I'm from Boston." Well wouldn't you know I was sitting in a buy back seat with a group of about 35 United Methodists from the Wallingford UMC in Seattle. I explained that I was on a trip and from the east coast and was also a methodist. It was quite a group out with there "church friends" and the guy I sat next to was great. He told me all about the new stadium, and we both agreed that the YANKEES SUCKED! Most people still have not forgiven AROD for leaving. Anyway, the Mariners blew the game and the Angels increased their lead on them.

After the game, I walked back to the hotel and passed out! Today I am going to the afternoon game, and then heading to the airport tonight to take a read eye back to Boston!! I'll be back at 9:30 tomorrow morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb