3...2..1 TAKEOFF


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » SeaTac
May 20th 2010
Published: May 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone! This is my first blog ever so don’t make fun! Here’s a little about my upcoming trip:

I am about to embark on an adventure to Europe and Asia. First Pau, France for five weeks to study French, the San Sebastian, Spain to play, I mean study Spanish for five more weeks, then India, with a month of uncertainty in between! I am phoneless, all alone (with nothing except my backpack and netbook), and incredibly exciteous (100%!e(MISSING)xcited and nervous at the same exact time). I’m sitting in Spokane, only 27 hours away from Paris, which is surprisingly intimidating. I haven’t spoken French in a while, and I’ve never traveled all by myself. We’ll see how this goes! I have decided to give couchsurfers a try. Some of my friends have tried it, and all have loved it. While the idea of staying with a complete stranger terrifies most people I tell, but I have faith that it will be perfect!

My journey began with a little stress and sadness. Accidentally leave your credit card in a copy machine for five minutes and they cancel it, can you believe it?! The stressful part is that they wouldn’t send me a new one in time. But my wonderful mother did some fantastic finagling and my card arrived just in the knick of time! The sad part was saying goodbye at the airport. For some strange reason I didn’t think that it would be hard, boy was I wrong. I will miss everyone so much (especially you nomadmama)!!
I’ve never written a blog, so I’m not exactly sure what to say. But I find it impertinent to warn to masses that the airport in Spokane, WA is lame. It is tiny, of course, and has no wifi. This is the first time that I realized just how independent you have to be to travel alone. I can’t seem to figure out how to get my computer into airplane mode so I can use it during my flight. My immediate thought, I’ll just call Brian. The problem, no phone. Hmmmm. Looks like I won’t be using my computer on the plane! Hopefully I am more successful in my future endeavors 😱

Cheerio!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb