Deception Pass


Advertisement
Published: August 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Filling in the blanks a little.

My sister asked a question why they call Deception Pass just that and I couldn't look it up on the internet because I didn't have any. Here is the explanation.

In the spring of 1792, Joseph Whidbey, master of HMS Discovery and Captain Vancouver's chief navigator proved that it was not really a small bay as charted by the Spaniards (hence the name "Deception"), but a deep and turbulent channel that connects theStrait of Juan de Fuca with the Saratoga Passage, which separates the mainland from what they believed was a peninsula (actually Fidalgo Island and Whidbey Island). Thomas Coupe, a sea captain and founder of Coupeville, was the only man ever to sail a full-rigged ship through the strait discovered by Whidbey.

Thanks for asking, I wondered that too.



I have included some pictures that I didn't publish from the San Juan Islands in and around La Conner, WA


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

service berriesservice berries
service berries

Very important in the Native American lives


22nd August 2015

decertion
Hey, Sis, thanks for the answer. I remember traveling in that area and remember how beautiful it is. Enjoy

Tot: 0.442s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 100; dbt: 0.2887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb