Leavenworth to La Conner, WA


Advertisement
Published: August 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

15 Leavenworth, WA to La Conner, WA



The day was brighter and clearer than it had been the last 2 days. The wind was blowing in another direction so the smoke was not here today.

The campground seems deserted as a lot of the campers have gone home. There were many young families here and they probably had to get back to work and maybe even school. There were several empty campsites where there had been none just a few days ago.

I got things packed up and was on the road by 10:30 but didn't go far. Just down the very windy road there was construction and traffic was stopped. I turned off the engine and just listened to the birds. It was a good 15 min before I saw the pilot car followed by about 20 cars round the bend and pass us. Hooray, we would move soon. They were shaving down a layer of road along the center line to put in reflectors that wouldn't get peeled off in the winter by the snow plow. Those reflectors are great especially in the fog.

After getting gas and making it through town I was on my way west again. I took some pictures of the mountains on the edge of town that I was going to wind my way around along the Wenatchee River following RT 2 west. It was little Switzerland. Absolutely beautiful ride, gorgeous scenery and surprisingly very good road. The only drawback was the smoke from the Chelan fire. They name all the fires out here after the place they originated. This fire has burned several thousand acres and has now consumed about 28 houses and an apple warehouse with 21 million dollars worth of apples, not to mention the worth of the warehouse. The Chelan area is highly depended on tourism and the last 2 weeks there has been none. This fire started from a lightening strike so at least it was a natural cause not some careless human.

I found a place to pull off the road for lunch and thought I could sit by the river but it turned out quite a walk to the water so I decided not to go so far in the woods alone. I was actually thinking about 2 legged danger but then there are bear in these woods too. So Oscar and I had a little exercise and lunch and we were refreshed and ready to continue.

We started down the other side and we still followed a river but this river flowed west, it was the Skykomish River, a real beauty with blue water and white rapids. Through little towns like Gold Bear, Index and Startup.

Ugg, civilization again. I turned north on I- 5 a huge interstate that goes to British Columbia and it was slow going for a while but then it broke and we motored along. The cascade mountains were to my right and every-once in a while I could see a snow patch.

Things are fairly flat here, I'm at sea level. Passed a saw mill with huge stacks of logs with a frame over the pile to keep it watered. I'm going to the San Juan Islands. Actually this campground is on the Swnomish Indian Reservation, Thousand Trails leases the land from the Indians so there are rules we have to abide by. Like not taking anything from the beach. No fishing or crabbing or clamming. The beach consists of small rounded stones and lots of driftwood. There is a boat ramp and I'm thinking about launching my kayak and just going out far enough to be able to float. Today was very still so with no wind I think it should be ok. The water is really cold so I would definitely wear my life jacket.

I found a camping spot very close to the water but there is vegetation growing in the back so I can't directly see the Sound. It is just a short walk to the beach so I can sit there and have my coffee. I'll have to bring the binoculars to see what is swimming around out there. I think I saw a sea otter but wasn't sure. Oscar loved the beach but apparently didn't read the signs about taking things from the beach. He kept eating, crunching away on who knows what.

It is wonderful to see green trees and vegetation. It is dry here but not like the rest of the state. There are several different kinds of evergreen trees, some I know like the hemlock, long needle pine and spruce but there are variations and some real different ones. Also deciduous trees, unlike in the eastern part of WA where most of the forest consists of evergreens. There are more birds here too. I was wondering if the birds left because of the drought or there are fewer birds in the world for some reason.

I don't know when I can publish this blog because I have no internet here. There is an internet lounge here at the campground but it doesn't always work and when it does it's crowded. I'll have to find a Mc Donalds. Top it all off, my phone got a little wet yesterday and now it's acting funny, don't know if it's the lack of signal or the water. I'll have to find a verizon store too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb