Days Off


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Last weekend I visited Lime Kiln Point State Park, which is apparently the best place (from land) to see whales in the area. I didn't see any whales, but I went fairly early in the morning and they might not have been up yet. It's possible I would have had more luck later on, but people started coming at around 11:00 am so I skedaddled. I was content just to enjoy the nature I did see (a couple of crows and a seagull, and a bigleaf maple - I can't identify trees - it was labled). I saw some tidepools as well but they didn't have starfish or anenomes in them - just mollusks of some sort (or crustaceans if they were barnacles; I didn't get that close and I'm not sure).
Today I went to The Whale Museum, which I expected to be sort of like the "museums" in Key West where you pay $15 for admission and are treated to 3 display cases.... I was pleasantly surprised at the relatively low admission cost for such a tourist-y place ($6) and all of the information was nearly overwhelming. A large part of the exhibits were focused on the resident J, K, and L-pods of orcas that hang out around here in the summer, which didn't really mean much to me since I don't keep track of them and know their names like some people apparently do. Maybe I would if I lived here; who knows. I sort of got over orcas after the Free Willy madness died out but it was still interesting. I was more intriqued by the displays about other area mammals, such as the seals and sea lions, mink, river otters, and porpoises. Apparently there are a decent number of Dall's and Harbor porpoise hybrids around. This is a result of the promiscuous behavior of male Dall's porpoises (I think it's male Dall's and female Harbor but don't quote me). I thought it was neat that hybrids were so frequently occuring in a natural setting. At the gift shop were all the orca merchandise one could ever want, but I happened upon a copy of Walker's Marine Mammals which I snagged. I already have Walker's Carnivores (acquired at the ASIH meeting last summer) which leaves out the pinnipeds because they are featured in Marine Mammals, so I was glad to be able to have a complete body of literature about the order Carnivora.
I also found a fabulous used bookstore, where the books are basically in alphabetical order but sort of crammed on the shelves wherever they will fit. Unfortunately I have plently of reading material, but I will hopefully finish some stuff so I can return.
Most places in town are within easy walking distance of my apartment (Whale Museum, drugstore, tourist grocery store, about 6 bookstores including the used bookstore, and several restaurants which I am too poor to try but maybe someday).
I don't know if it's the fact that I'm 2 hours earlier than Kansas or what, but I find it impossible to sleep past 8:30 or 9:00. This is slightly inconvenient because nothing here opens until 10 or 11 and everything closes at 5. Everyone seems to go to bed at around 10:30 as well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Lighthouse at LKPSPLighthouse at LKPSP
Lighthouse at LKPSP

Apparently it's a whale research place?
LKPSPLKPSP
LKPSP

Caterpillar!
LKPSPLKPSP
LKPSP

Caterpillar!


14th June 2008

I'm glad you're enjoying yourself! I want to go to this place. It's very pretty.
14th June 2008

I'm glad you're enjoying yourself! I want to go to this place. It's very pretty.
14th June 2008

I'm glad you're enjoying yourself! I want to go to this place. It's very pretty.

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0994s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb