Back at home


Advertisement
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Emily's weddingEmily's weddingEmily's wedding

MOT-07 classmates at our friend and fellow classmates' wedding April 27.
So, after the past few months in AK absolutely soaking up the newness of a snowy frozen place in the arctic, I have returned home to debrief and pack for these upcoming trips. The day I got back I attended the wedding of a friend in my occupational therapy class at UW. It was wonderful to see my classmates again and reminece old times from school. I did get the joy of a shower of a classmate’s red wine in my eye, my hair, and all down the front of my red (luckily) dress, out on the dance floor! No harm was done after the sting went away.

I visited my brother, and my friends courtney and megan in seattle. After only speaking to people on the phone, nothing compares to seeing them in person! Had some good laughs, and some good conversations for sure. I helped my mom organize our house and watched as the new deck went up in front, a surprise to my dad who is away on a post-retirement adventure throughout the western US. I’ve spent some time preparing for my upcoming trip to Uzbekistan, working over the phone and via email communication to the other
OTs re-uniteOTs re-uniteOTs re-unite

We are finally together again after almost a year. Our old crazy selves re-emerge.
OT, Ella, and the massage therapist, Sharon, who will be on my team with Medical Teams International to UZB. We’ve put together an outline to cover 13 days of seminar style teaching topics on things such as seating and positioning, management and prevention of pressure sores, sensory processing in children who have been institutionalized, exercises and range of motion for children with Cerebral Palsy, and lots more. We’ve created a stack of overhead slide presentations, and sent them via email to be translated into Russian so they will be ready when we get there. When my dad and I drive back from california in a few days, I'll get to meet the OT who I will be traveling to Uzbekistan with, and we will go shopping for supplies.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.467s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb