Mexico Countdown: Six Days


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Omak
February 11th 2006
Published: February 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mexico



Just six more days until I get ready to head south of the border. I am super excited. I haven't really been to Mexico before (just once but I was only six, so I don't remember). But more than that, it's a chance to get away!

It is no easy thing for me to stay here. Apart from the fact that I've been living with my parents for the last six months after living on my own for the better part of three years (I'm not complaining - it's just that my independent personality hasn't gone anywhere) - I'm somewhat weary. At times I feel like I'm in this big classroom and God is making me sit at my desk and won't let me get up until He's done teaching me some things. I wonder how much more I've got to learn before He lets me graduate.

At any rate, Mexico will be a good break for me. I've joked with Josh about flying down there and "purpodentally" (Blair's word meaning "accidentally on purpose") missing my flight home. Apart from missing my favorite parts of the Olympics, and missing a week in my Bloomsday training progarm...there's not much that makes me want to come back to Omak. And, as you can see, my reasons are pretty pathetic. :-P

But Jesus has me in Omak, so I'll stay because that's where He wants me. I don't really want anything else. That is hard to say - not when you're a bystander, but when you're in the thick of things and what you want presents itself, and Jesus says, "You can have that, or you can have Me." Wisdom chooses Jesus every time.

My trip to Mexico has been deemed to be a "party trip." The whole point is to encourage Lolis, Pastor Amalio's wife. So we'll hang out in Tecpan for a couple of days with her (and with Josh), and then we'll travel to Aculpoco and another city north of there to "party" and visit some other ladies.

Too cool!

And, budget-willing, I plan on getting a really nice digital camera with part of this Thursday's paycheck, so I won't have to use the one I bought my parents. So hopefully I'll have a lot of cool pictures!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb