Othello, Washington


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Kennewick
July 10th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


day 3 001day 3 001day 3 001

Drive to Glacier
Last night I hung out with the Dorsing family. They have 3 kids under 6 years old, and I must say I enjoyed all of them. From the time two of them opened the front door to the house and welcomed me in, I had such a good time. These were some of the nicest kids I have met. Instantly they meet a new person, and they were not shy one bit. It was one of those situations that you can just let your guard down and feel right at home. I was given a tour of the farmland that Kevin works on, and I now know about 5000% more about cherry and blueberry farming than I did before. I say this in a good way, because all of it fascinates me! I think the science of taking care of the plants and the machinery that they use to maintain and harvest the goods is awesome. I was considering staying around a little bit this morning to see the harvesting by hand take place, but I decided that I should just get on the road right away. I had to make it to Kalispell by the evening, so I had a
day 3 002day 3 002day 3 002

Another Glacier shot
fair amount of driving ahead of me.

I drove all day to get to Kalispell, and from Spokane on I fought gusty winds the whole way. They were bad enough that some of the gusts blew me over about half of my lane. So now I am sitting at Starbucks with my coffee, and getting ready to go to the Kauffman’s house. I believe they are related to Becca King (hey Becca if you read this, just so you know I had to try very hard not to call you Becca Krabill). Everything is going good so far. Tomorrow I will probably head up to Glacier National Park to have a look around. I might spend another night in Kalispell, or I might just head to who knows where (somewhere towards Yellowstone?)! Maybe I should figure that out right now…

I’m signing off until next time…



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

day 3 003day 3 003
day 3 003

The lake before Kalispell. Flathead lake?
day 3 004day 3 004
day 3 004

Another Flathead lake shot


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb