Necessary Days


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Chehalis
August 22nd 2015
Published: August 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Nothing much new to report but I am safe and not in any of the fire areas.

Yesterday I explored a little but spent most of the day getting my hair cut. I found a local beauty parlor and the owner took 2 1/2 hours to cut and color my hair. OMG I thought I'd never get out of there. All of the town's gossip is now stored in my brain, thanks to Stephanie. She didn't do 2 things at once so while talking she stopped whatever she was doing and put all her energies into my getting the news.

I went to Mossy Rock, a town with a lagging economy, because it was close. They need some kind of industry to spur things along and give the town a transfusion. They have farms, and logging and not much else. But the people are nice and there is some tourism so when the drought breaks maybe something good will happen.

My hair-do is acceptable, a lot better than it was so I'm glad to have it done.

Today I went to a tire dealer in Chehalis about 1/2hr from here and they said I need a new tire on the car but they didn't have any my size. I will go to their branch near Astoria next week, order a tire and get it put on a few days later. Still have an issue with the right rear wearing.

I was going to go to Mt St Helen's today but the weather was very overcast and tomorrow promises to be better. I've been trying to get there for 2 days now, so tomorrow is the day, weather or not. I think our haze is from the many forest fires burning in the state. It's SO dry with no relief in sight. I'm not able to see the gorgeous view I took pictures of 2 days ago. I was lucky to get that beautiful day.

On Monday I move to Seaview, it's on the coast just north of Astoria so I'm hoping for a clean sea breeze.

I included a few pictures from other areas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb