4 days to launch


Advertisement
Published: September 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just returned from a 7 day Alaskan cruise in the middle of this move. It was planned 10 months ago so it just made sense to work the move around it. It was quite fun we spent many hours in the card room playing Texas Holdem' and finding other ways to part with our money on the ship.

On to the move...

Home today to wash laundry and pack the remaining few items. It amazes me to think that I have packed everything in a room and I look behind a soda bottle in the kitchen and there is a trivet...not packed. So the BIGGER question is....do I put the trivet in a box with electronics that is still open in the family room, or how about a box with dog toys in the laundry room??? (OK, probably not). The trivet is breakable so maybe I should start a new box of breakable items I find hidden after the boxes are moved out. Uggg!! Then it won't be in it's proper box marked "Kitchen" (yes...I am a little obsessive compulsive) and it will probably get shoved into a closet and unpacked in 18 months because the box it was packed in said "Children's Toys" (they are in college now so it might be a bit longer than 18 months).

Anyone who understands "OCD" knows how much it would bother me to put it into the wrong box....like coloring outside the lines. I would have to find that one box and possibly repack the entire house because I would not sleep at night.

I know...maybe I could just mail the trivet to myself..avoiding the need to pack it all together. That might get expensive if I found too many items unpacked. Plus, would I be able to include all of the found items in the same box to mail...then doesn't that defeat the purpose of mailing them originally? OK...how about a box marked "stuff I found after all the stuff I needed was packed"? Then I could just not open the box and donate it.

What if I missed something, I mean really really missed something. What if there was one sock in the box I donated and I held the other sock for years just waiting for that one sock to magically reappear? What if, worse yet, it was half of a wooden salad spoon set. Maybe I only had the fork side and the spoon side actually was given away by me in the box marked "stuff I found......". Wow what could I do with the one salad fork? I guess I could make a one armed bear costume with a wooden fork hand for Halloween. I know!! I could stick the handle end of it in a cup and pour plaster in the cup to hold the fork still and use the fork to hold notes about where I have found things. Possibly the reality of the lone salad fork would be that it ended up in the bottom of a utensil drawer only to be unearthed years later by an unsuspecting family member searching the drawer for a pair to serve with. Then the gnawing on my soul would follow about why I only have half of a salad serving set. I would comb every cabinet in search of the wandering lost utensil.

That settles it. I must start another box of kitchen items since I missed this trivet. If the trivet becomes the lone kitchen item in the box at least I won't be searching my house for a salad spoon!!!

Goodnight my OCD and non-OCD readers I must sleep. Tomorrow begins a new day in thhh.......oh look something shiny...............

Advertisement



20th September 2009

See, You ARE Funny!
I love the way you write! Oh, and OCD isn't such a bad thing...At least, we can sleep knowing that everything is in the correctly labeled box, right?
26th September 2009

Good Start!
I can't wait to read what you write about the truck's mechanical problems and the first solutions Penske sent.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb