48 Hours and Buenas Suerte


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Roanoke
July 30th 2013
Published: July 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Good Morning Everyone!

This is my first of hopefully many blogs! I am currently sitting on the couch in Roanoke visiting with family and the cats. I really don't know what to write at this given time considering I have a "To Do List" that is increasing in length by the thought. But all I know is that I need to create this blog now in preparation for the upcoming days.

It became real to me yesterday when I got my visa stamped that I am going. I AM MOVING TO COSTA RICA! (this is where you put in the HELL YES mixed in with the OH CRAP). Two years teaching at Country Day School in Escazu, San Jose, Costa Rica. Living abroad has been on my bucket list. I will live with the locals and truly come to understand a culture as an ex-pat local, not as a traveler or even worse a "tourist". A tourist has such a negative connotation to it in my opinion. "I am going to tour the country on the tour bus. I will snap photos when I lean out the window and just maybe I may go to the local pub." I have spent much of my life being a traveler, spending significant time in a singular area and appreciating it. But what I am doing now... I am working to understand it.

I think.

Advertisement



1st August 2013

Grandparent confirmation.
Scott, you will have to watch what you say on your blogs, now, 'cause your Grandma and Grandpa are now in the "circuit"! We just wanted to let you know we did get set up for your blogs per our conversation yesterday and we appreciated your first blog. Buen viaje y bienvenida a Costa Rica. Con amor, Abuela y Abuelo
4th August 2013

Traveler, tourist, ex-pat, local...
Sounds fantastic and we will follow along on your adventure. Can't wait to hear about your teaching, diving, learning of languages and cultural experience. We await your future blogs.

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb