National Museum of the Marine Corps


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Quantico
March 27th 2011
Published: April 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

A few photos of the Museum just outside of Quantico Marine Corps Base. My friend and I made a very quick trip through the museum as we had to catch a plane home. We missed a lot. A visitor really needs about 3 hours minimum to see everything and I believe that would still be going through fairly quickly. I hope to get a longer visit my next trip to Virginia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Lego Version of the War MemorialLego Version of the War Memorial
Lego Version of the War Memorial

This display is in the gift shop. I'm sure someone had a lot of fun putting this together. Some of the things for sale in this gift shop I had never seen anywhere else...it was quite impressive.
Sikorsky HRS-2Sikorsky HRS-2
Sikorsky HRS-2

This helicopter diorama depicts the deployment of troops in Korea.
An AV-8B HarrierAn AV-8B Harrier
An AV-8B Harrier

These planes have incredible hover capabilities allowing them to be refueled in the air. With their short takeoff and landing capabilities they are primarily operated from large amphibious assault ships or small aircraft carriers.
"A date which will live in infamy...""A date which will live in infamy..."
"A date which will live in infamy..."

The individual who sponsored this diorama inside the museum is the Uncle of a friend of mine. Something I might never have known had my friend not mentioned his name just 24 hours earlier. The world we live in is small indeed.
A Retirement CeremonyA Retirement Ceremony
A Retirement Ceremony

We were told they have these ceremonies frequently and guests to the museum are allowed to watch. Honestly, I felt like an intruder...and had no idea how to stand. Do I put my hand over my heart? Do I stand at attention like the Marines all around me? In the end I tried to look respectable and was happy I was standing in the back.
Marine Corps MemorialMarine Corps Memorial
Marine Corps Memorial

"Uncommon Valor was a Common Virtue"


Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb