Outran the rain! Whew!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Mineral
May 17th 2018
Published: May 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

General Route


Tom my tour guideTom my tour guideTom my tour guide

I was very lucky to have Tom come and give me a personal tour of Scotchtown, Patric Henry’s Home. Henry went on to become the first Governor of Virginia. Thomas Jefferson was the secon.
Not a lot to talk about today.

I started early because the weather report showed heavy showers on the way.

I rode pretty hard all day hoping I could minimize the wetness.

I did stop and spend some time at Patric Henry’s home which was only 1/2 mile off my route.

Tom is the caretaker of the property and although it was quite early, he strolled out to welcome me and gave me a personal tour of the property.

I really wished I could stay longer but the sky was getting darker by the minute.

On the way to Mineral, I was waved down by a delightful woman named Susan. She told me about the local thrift shop with FREE food a block off the route.

How could I pass that up? I thanked them profusely as I helped myself to a few goodies.

Off I went and raced to my bed for the night; the home of Gary Glick. I got there just before the rain really started coming down.

Thanks to a heads up by PJ Nevins, I used the website Warmshowers.com and found Gary near Mineral.

He
Patric Henry’s Home before addition.Patric Henry’s Home before addition.Patric Henry’s Home before addition.

The early home before Patric Henry bought it ended just before the covered entrance.
is an extremely nice fellow and showed me his comfortable loft with a nice warm shower.

We sat on his deck, exchanging biographies while watching the rain pour off his roof.

Gary is also an excellent cook and I savored every bite of his gourmet meal.

It appears I won’t be able to avoid the rain tomorrow so it might be another wet ride.

I’ll let you know.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Scotchtown after the addition. A total of 8 bedrooms.Scotchtown after the addition. A total of 8 bedrooms.
Scotchtown after the addition. A total of 8 bedrooms.

This was Patric Henry,s home from 1771 to 1778. Patric Henry was the charismatic driving force behind the Virginia leading citizens desire to succeed from Great Britain. Unfortunately very few of his speeches were saved so very little of his fiery speeches can be accurately repeated. Patric Henry had 17 children from two wives. His first wife went crazy after her sixth child and had to be confined to separate quarters in the basement.
Lake Anna near MineralLake Anna near Mineral
Lake Anna near Mineral

Beautiful Lake lined with homes on the water.


18th May 2018

It will be fun to read about your ongoing adventure. What a great cause. Thank-you for your service cuz!
20th May 2018

Thanks
Heather is was so nice to hear from you.
18th May 2018

Keep going Bob
You’ve got this Bob. I was just talking to a neighbors college boy who took a 3 month trip to Mexico for surfing. He used an organization similar to Warm Showers. What a great idea... I’m glad that there kind people out there...
20th May 2018

So good to hear from you.
Thanks for your thoughts. Yes Warmshowers seems to be a wonderful community of bicyclists.
18th May 2018

Saw your counterpart
We were on I-70 north of Moab yesterday and passed a guy fully loaded and pedaling east. Wanted to stop and talk but obviously not possible on the Interstate. We were thinking about you. Glad you made it ahead of the rain. We’re enjoying the blogs.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb