Shenanadoah Outfitters - Day 3 - Saturday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Luray
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We awaken to another beautiful morning. As anyone who has tent-camped can attest, the weather can literally make or break a trip, and so far, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. It was sunny and hot during the day and cool and mild during the nights. Not a cloud in the sky. After yesterday’s successful trip, we decide that today we will float the section that was being run by the outfitter (#16 to #19). This section is just slightly longer than yesterday’s and features several ledges, swimming holes, turtles (deep and slow spots), and a section described as a “Class II Rapid”.

Before floating today though, we decide to drive to the Luray Caverns to go through the “Hedge Maze” which is a giant maze made of bushes that you walk through. We had been there two years ago and the girls absolutely loved it. They love mazes and they love finding clues. This combined both. We spent about an hour following the girls through the maze and stopped for dip-and-dots afterwards. It was a nice way to start the morning.

As we drive back to the campground, Karin is understandably nervous about taking the girls down the Class II rapid, and admittedly, I am too. I once kayaked the Lower Youghiogheny in Ohio Pyle, PA which is rated as Class II and III rapids. It beat me up pretty good whenever we capsized, and the thought of towing the girls on a tube through that type of churning whitewater terrified me. The map showed a beach along the side of the rapids section and I figured we could scout it first and portage it if need be. I was also somewhat skeptical that it was really a “Class II”. They were sending people down by the busloads in tubes filled with coolers of beer. Could it really be that dangerous? Karin wanted to talk to someone first to find out. She talked to two people who assured her it would be safe to take the girls down this section. One guy even laughed and said “they’re calling THAT a class II? It’s more like a 0.2”. That settled it. We were going.

I was a bit less enthusiastic about going for a jog today. As we packed up and left, I didn’t even bother looking for my socks. I also didn’t really bother scouting the road I would be running. It was like I convinced myself that someone would come along and offer me a ride. I even tried unsuccessfully to bribe the dreadlocked kid who was driving the bus to follow me up and run me back. No luck, they were booked-up all day. Thankfully my socks were still in my kayak, so I put them on and began trudging up the road. Today’s run started out much easier. About half way I came to another pretty steep hill. I ran about half way up and walked the rest. I alternated running and walking the rest of the way. No sense in killing myself, I figured. I am on vacation after all. I came causally strolling around the last corner and there were Karin and the girls cheering me on like a marathon runner coming down the home stretch. The girls even came running to meet me with a water bottle and my hat. What a greeting! Karin looked at her watch, “forty minutes” she announced with a smile. Oh well.

We managed to slip into the river just as the outfitters were getting the last of a group of tubers into the water. Another busload would be arriving any minute. It was an amazing site. People in tubes, canoes, and kayaks as far up, and as far down the river as you could see. It was quite a different experience from yesterday. It was like a gigantic floating party and we were right smack-dab in the middle of it all. There were people from all walks of life floating down the river; dads fishing, grandparents snapping pictures, young kids blasting each other with water cannons, young couples holding hands, and lots of college aged kids with coolers full of beer enjoying the final carefree days of summer. It was a great day for people watching, and we got to see a lot since our kayaks were much faster than the flotilla of tubes tied together, sometimes in groups of 20 or more.

We eventually came to a rope swing. These always bring back memories for me. I spent countless hours as a kid swinging from ropes into the Conewago Creek a few miles from our house. I wasn’t going to do it at first, but it seemed to draw me in the closer we got. I watched as some guy stood on the ledge for what seemed like 10 minutes before summoning the courage to swing. He left too much slack in the rope and it jerked him hard before spinning him into the water. Next was a young girl who appeared to have plenty of “liquid courage” coursing through her veins. She too left too much slack in the rope and was yanked off early leaving her with a case of rope burn on both hands. The next guy seemed to be going pretty good before he let go too late and landed flat on his side. Ouch. Next was my turn. I pulled the rope tight to my chest, swung out perfectly straight, snapped my feet up towards my head, let go of the rope, and did a perfect back flip. The look on the girl’s faces when I came up from the water was priceless.

Next up was the “Class II Rapid”. I could see it around the bend and asked Karin if she wanted to get out so we could scout it. To my surprise, she said no. She was watching the less than competent canoes ahead of us make it down without incident and decided we could handle it. She was right. It was a very fun section, but nothing I would consider dangerous. In fact, the most dangerous part was when a big guy stumbled on some rocks and almost fell on us as we went by. There were lots of people walking back up and floating down it again just for fun. Just around the bend there was a very deep pool and a sandy beach where we stopped for a swim. There was a sheer rock cliff across the river that came all the way down to the water. It was a spectacular site. Karin stripped off her lifejacket without a word and started swimming for the wall. It was like she suddenly became “Jane of the Jungle”. The girls and I hopped in and tried to follow. Rylee was determined to catch her. Paige was determined not to. Karin eventually made the wall and turned around to see Rylee coming. She swam back to meet her and Paige and I headed back to the beach. We stayed here for a long while just drinking in the scenery and enjoying the beauty of this place. It was a real “wow moment” for me, and one that I don’t think I will ever forget.

We floated the rest of the way in no particular hurry. Rylee and I were out of the boats as much as we were in. We swam, splashed, and went “bouldering”-where we would hop from rock to rock as the current pulled us along. We eventually filed out of the river with the rest of the herd, and there was the Jeep already waiting for us. We loaded up quickly and easily, out of the hustle and bustle of people jockeying for position on the next bus back to camp. As we did, I couldn’t help but feel as if we were getting away with something we shouldn’t be. Here we were having just as much fun as these people who were paying lots of money for the experience and it didn’t cost us a dime. We drove back to camp, started up a blazing campfire, and made a delicious chicken fajita dinner in our cast iron skillet over the open fire. After dinner it was showers and smores then off to bed, exhausted, and totally content.

What a great way to wrap up the summer. School starts Wednesday; Paige in Kindergarten and Rylee 2nd grade. I remember being kinda sad when Rylee started kindergarten. It was like she had grown up too quickly and I wasn’t sure I was ready for her to go off on her own. It’s different with Paige. I’m excited for her. I’ve seen what school has meant to Rylee and I’m anxious for Paige to enjoy the same experiences. OK, Im ready now. Bring on the fall!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb