Taking off


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Hampton
October 24th 2009
Published: October 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Planning on taking off tomorrow on a short hop to Portsmouth, Va. Leave Portsmouth Monday about 7 AM to make the bridges and lock. If everything goes smooth I'll try to make Coinjock NC before dark Monday night. If not I'll hold up in Great Bridge and make Coinjock on Tuesday. The stop after Coinjock will be at anchor in the Allegator River just past Albamarle sound.

I have heard that the Ben Sawyer Bridge in SC will be closed from Nov. 13 for 10 days so I'll either have to make it before it closes, wait for 10 days somewhere or head into the ocean to bypass it.

The boat is full and I have the charts I need. Friends have been great with feeding me info and updated charts and have saved me a lot of money.

Wind is supposed to be out of the north tomorrow about 15 knots. Should be a nice run into Portsmouth.

Fighting off a sore throat got to go take a psuedophed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb