What's next?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Arlington
April 9th 2007
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...

...one night after returning from Vietnam.
I'm finally concluding my blog, a week and a half later after my return. It has been a tough adjustment. I'm back to schedules, deadlines, appointments, responsibilities. I am reminded of just how lucky I am to have the friends I do, and two jobs I enjoy very much. I am however, looking forward to my next trip. Tibet, Nepal, India, Burma, Petra, Egypt, South America are all possible destinations. I will work it so that I have more time off next year. Two weeks just wasn't enough.

There are certain paths in life that we all choose, that we must choose as individuals. Personally, it seems like many of these paths are laid out for us in cookie cutter fashion, especially in the States; house, white picket fence, 2 cars, 2.5 children, soccer moms, etc. These are all well and good. I want kids, a great wife, and a great big house my children can enjoy. But, in trying to achieve all these things, we lose sight of what else is out there for us to see, for us to experience. There are over 160 countries out there, and counting, with cultures as diverse as our own. Not
Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...

...Jao suffers our wrath!
experiencing at least some of them in our lifetime is a crime committed against ourselves, our development and edification. We must realize that there has to be more than what we are socialized to achieve. Six percent of Americans have passports, 6%! My advice to all, and I have said this before to some of you reading this, is enjoy the moment instead of only thinking about the goals, the end result. We often lose sight of what we are doing now because we are blinded by what we want to do, to achieve, to amass, later. I am no better or worse than the person next to me. I simply believe that traveling allows the individual more opportunities for epiphanies, for those eureka moments in life. When is the last time you truly had one of those and what did it feel like? Pretty damn good feeling when you wake up from a silent slumber.
Speaking of silent slumbers and living in the moment, let me move on to more sophomoric activities. I arrived in NYC and immediately hopped in a cab to meet my friends out for drinks. It was a good conclusion to a great trip. Had
Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...

...Jao suffers our wrath!
it been any other way, I wouldn't have looked forward to coming back. But since my group of friends and I get together every year for a Fantasy Baseball Draft full of drinks, food, and hijinx, what better way to end a trip? The "aluminum foil cock and balls" reference I may have made earlier in one of my entries only makes sense to these friends, but I will expound upon it for you others who do not get the joke. When you get a bunch of thirty-somethings together for food, fun, laughs, and 16 hrs. of drinking, certain things occur toward the end of the night. The first to fall asleep suffers the wrath of the few who are still awake, preying on their victims with glee and a great sense of mischief. It often involves adolescent pranks, one of which was started last year by me and my friend Dan. I proudly admit this, though it may come back to bite me later on in my life. The aluminum foil cock and balls prank was born, along with the obligatory permanent marker rampage. This year's draft was no different. Good God, how old are we? Enjoy the pics
Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...

...Jao suffers our wrath!
attached and if this offends you, too bad. Don't view the pics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...
Draft Day 2007...

...even my partner in crime wasn't immune!
Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...
Draft Day 2007...

...the first to fall.
Draft Day 2007...Draft Day 2007...
Draft Day 2007...

...okay, okay, so I got caught too.


Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb