Charlotte, NC to Appomattox Court House, Virginia


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last Capital of the ConfederacyLast Capital of the ConfederacyLast Capital of the Confederacy

This is where Jefferson Davis and his cabinet set up a temporary capital from April 3-10. He was here when he received word of the surrender of the Army on Northern Virginia
Tuesday May 31 Charlotte, NC to Appomattox Court House, Virginia
Today left Charlotte and headed towards Danville. I was surprised to see a Bass Pro Shop on the Northern outskirts of Charlotte! So I made a "U" turn and found my way back to it. I actually found a mosquito net there.........! So now I finally have a mosquito net to keep the little critters away. Other places have all kinds of devises you can use but they are all a racket to ensure a cash flow to the corporations that make them.....they require you to constantly buy "refills".
I went next door to a Cajun Restaurant called Razoos for some gumbo. It was pretty good but not thick enough so I had the waiter bring me another "scoop" of rice and it was just right.
After eating I pushed on to Danville and found the Sutherland Home, which was the last capital of the Confederency from April 3 - 10. It was here that Jefferson Davis received the official confirmation of Lee's surrender of The Army of Northern Virginia.
I had intended to spend the night in Danville but still had a lot of day left so decided to go
on to Lynchburg. After I got there I kept on going and went on to Appomattox Court House before stopping. So now I am in a good position to see the surrender site tomorrow morning.
I stayed at the cheapest place in town. The Budget Inn in Appomattox.. At $55 including tax. It Had two queen beds, microwave, and fridge. It was clean and comfortable enough abeit a little small. An older place to be sure but quiet and safe with a restaurant and Mcdonalds across the street. It was just too darn hot and humid to consider camping. My clothes were hanging on me soaking wet.
I have decided to start going to bed earlier so I can get up earlier and get in my touring before it gets so hot and then call it a day around 3 PM and get my motel rooms so I can be out of the hottest part of the day. At least that's the plan.
Tomorrow Appomattox Court House, Sailer's Creek, Five Forks, and then "On to Richmond".



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Razoo's Cajun RestaurantRazoo's Cajun Restaurant
Razoo's Cajun Restaurant

Good gumbo after I got another scoop of rice to add to it


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb