Finally I've moved past the pre-pre-departure...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Anyone who knows me for the last 8-12 months may know how much effort has gone into getting myself over to the Middle East.

I began planning this trip over a year ago and have run into so many pitfalls it would be a pointless attempt to recant them here, as I would most certainly lose any readers' attention. Especially since most of my readers (if any) have heard me complain about this so many times that I should thank them for their continued friendship.

SO, FINALLY, I AM ON MY WAY TO AMMAN, JORDAN!

I have recently received official confirmation to attend my program, my crisp new passport, my loan, and have begun to look at flights (and this time it's not just for fun).

I'm so incredibly excited and so nervous at the same time. It's been nearly a year since I've studied Arabic and I sucked at it then. I'm an atheist single woman who spent 18 years in a small brick house among many (all identical save for the 50 years of minor personalization) in a safe and homogeneous suburb. Although I have already experienced the "culture shock" that is to move to an entirely different situation (when I moved out to Chicago for college), but I can't help but believe I'm entirely unprepared for spending four months in the Middle East. So, basically, I'm kind of freaking out about this. Nevertheless I can't wait. :D





Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb