Heaven on a Sunday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Logan
November 9th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Drive Day 9


Yesterday, a few of the uncles woke up a bunch of the boys at ridiculously early in the morning to watch a football game (that’s soccer for those of us in the States.) Apparently it was a big game because it was Manchester United against Arsenal- whatever the heck that means! (I’m learning bits and pieces of this crazy game, as all the uncles and most of the boys find it fascinating.) So, at dinner last night, the boys asked me which was my favorite team, and I said I only know American football teams. “Oh no, Auntie! American football is bad! All you do is tackle your friends!” I tell you what, though, with how the Hawks have been playing lately, I may switch which football I watch!

Anyway, I tell you the because today, before dinner, we all went to the park and played football- the boys and the aunties against the girls and the uncles. (We won!) It was loads of fun. I haven’t played since like kindergarten, and I didn’t actually do much playing today, but Ruth and I were defending our goal and letting the boys and Sarah and Jenn do the scoring for us. There was one time I kicked the ball on purpose, and a few times I was standing in the way of it, which sort of counted as a block. At one point, someone kicked it at my face and I blocked it with my arms and the guys got a free kick for that. (I thought I was just protecting my face.) And I was already especially jumpy because earlier in the game, Victor face-checked me with his shoulder. The whole no-hands thing was really lost on me. Anyway, it was fun regardless. The uncles- Victor, Jordan and David play together a lot and as a result, play very well together. They put together some awesome plays. As Sarah described it, they fly down the field like the Might Ducks in a Flying V! And they’re all very quick; I was often intimidated when they were running at me, which is why you kept hearing me yell, “Boys?!?!” I liked it better when Jordan stayed on the other side of the field- he’s big! Not like Kyle is big, but like “Hi! I have SQUIRRELS!” He and David always made me nervous, and Victor was always sneaking in behind us to complete the play. Yikes!

(Rewind to this morning) We did church together, just the lot of us, in one of the rooms at the hotel. I’m still amazed by these kids’ spirit of worship and how they soak up what they learn about God. I think they’ve also seen His provision in their lives a bit more evidently (if that’s a word) than the rest of us- we tend to overlook things like that, and thus, we forget to come back and thank Him. The crew had looked at looked into some churches, but nothing suited our fancies. As much as I would have loved to go to a church, I was kind of glad we didn’t. I miss home more when we go to churches, especially those so different from home. It was especially fun because Edgar walked in wearing Uncle David’s tie over his travel clothes… which he wore almost until dinner.

The drive was short, and I did my duty behind the wheel. We celebrated Jordan’s birthday, maybe a bit more than he would’ve liked, but it was fun. After a short stint at the hotel, we all headed down to see a move- Madagascar 2. Now, the kids have never been to a cinema, and they didn’t really know what it was or what to expect. They have only seen two other movies- Toy Story 1 and 2. Man, they were excited! “Is this the movie, Auntie?” No… these are previews, like adverts for new movies.” Man, they loved the movie! About half way through, Claire leans to me and says, “Auntie… I need to susu.” (which means she had to pee.) And, being that I was the closest auntie to her, and I’m very responsible like that, I took her. We came back, and I was almost to my seat when Diana said, “Auntie, can I susu?” Round 2. I was nervous to come back that time. Anyway, they thoroughly enjoyed whole experience, complete with popcorn.

After that, we played football for a while to burn some energy and some time, so then we went to dinner. A nice Chinese buffet… of course.

After dinner, we’re all congregated in Sarah’s room for a movie, which was preceded by tickling, water spilling and ice throwing. It was a great Sunday.

And today I learned that there is a Logan, UT, and a Logan, CO. One is 1 hour from where we were, and one is 9.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb