Paunsaugunt Plateau, Dixie National Forest, Bryce Canyon City, Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon City
October 22nd 2018
Published: October 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

About three miles West of Utah 63 (Bryce Canyon NP) on Utah 12; I turned Southbound on FS 087 (the primary road across the Paunsaugunt Plateau) of the Dixie N Forest.I drove to the second crossing of FS 088 to make my camp for the night. I cooked my dinner and watched a nice sunset. Then I watched the moon rise. I got on my bed and had a nice sleep for the night.

The next morning I had a nice coffee break. Then it was time to drive across the Paunsaugunt Plateau.

Back on FS 087 Southbound I quickly got to the nice Tropic Reservoir. There was time to enjoy the views of the lake and shoot a few pics.

On the South side of the reservoir there was the Tropic Spring open free to the public. I got my empty water bottles and filled them (and my belly) with good spring water.

I drove about four miles South on FS 087. Then I drove SW on Kanab Creek FS 105. That was a good road but I soon back tracked to FS 087 to try to find the South end of this plateau.

After a few miles on FS 087 I reached the bad Podunk Road that actually enters Bryce Canyon N Park, but not to the park road or any overlooks.

I turned SE on FS 092 trying to see the Pink Cliffs on the SE corner of the Paunsaugunt Plateau. I took this Crawford Creek road to the end at Crawford Pass. I wanted to walk down to the Pink Cliffs; but I may not be able to walk back up to Old Blue. I started to backtrack toward FS 087 when the weather quickly got cold. I made an emergency camp on FS 092.

The next morning I finished my back track North on FS 209 to the main Forest Service road FS 087. It had warmed up so I drove Southbound to possibly find another road to the pink Cliffs. I drove SW on FS 209 until I got to the end of the road above the Pink Cliffs. Once again the steep walk down to the Pink Cliffs looked like a one way walk. I was disappointed but alive and well. I drove back North to FS 087. I had some trail mix to eat as I
camp roadcamp roadcamp road

FS 088
drove North across the Paunsaugunt Plateau to Utah 12.

Another full day for me as my next camp will be on the North Kaibab N Forest in Arizona.

Completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

camp roadcamp road
camp road

FS 088
campcamp
camp

by FS 088
campcamp
camp

by FS 088
campcamp
camp

by FS 088
dinnerdinner
dinner

by FS 088
camp sunsetcamp sunset
camp sunset

by FS 088
camp sunsetcamp sunset
camp sunset

by FS 088
camp sunsetcamp sunset
camp sunset

by FS 088
 camp sunset camp sunset
camp sunset

by FS 088
camp sunsetcamp sunset
camp sunset

by FS 088
moonrisemoonrise
moonrise

by FS 088
moonrisemoonrise
moonrise

by FS 088
morning campmorning camp
morning camp

by FS 088
morning campmorning camp
morning camp

by FS 088
morning campmorning camp
morning camp

by FS 088


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb