Bryce Canyon National Park, Bryce Canyon City, Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon City
October 19th 2018
Published: October 19th 2018
Edit Blog Post

General StoreGeneral StoreGeneral Store

Bryce Canyon City
After crossing the Northern section of Bryce Canyon N Park on Utah 12; I turned South on Utah Hwy 63 to the main part of this wonderful park. First I made a stop in Bryce Canyon City for petro and to drop off my postcards in their mail drop.

Bryce Canyon is not a true canyon, but is an Amphitheater. This is the Eastern end of the Paunsaugunt Plateau (with all East views) with very nice erosion structures often called "Hoodoos".

I had a long day and I passed up on Sunrise Point, Sunset Point, and Bryce Point cuz of the big traffic there with long walks. I started with the very nice Inspiration Point.

At Inspiration Point I took my quart of cold water and enjoyed several views of this nice overlook. I was dry when I returned to Old Blue.

Then driving Southbound through Bryce Canyon N Park I made nice short stops to enjoy the many small NPS scenic Bryce overlooks.

I made my last real stop to enjoy the Natural Bridge viewpoint. There was a geologic map there that I disagreed with based on the internet sites for the Grand Staircase. First the right side of the map was to the North and the left side was to the South. (Good maps have the top to the North side to help with map interpetation.) The Pink Cliffs, White Cliffs, and Vermilion Cliffs were in order decending to the South. The print on the sign stated that the Grand Staircase included Zion N Park (Utah) and then down to the Grand Canyon in Arizona. I disagree with the sign.

Anyway, I had a great visit to Bryce Canyon N Park; but now it was time for me to find my free camp in the nearby Paunsaugunt Plateau of the Dixie National Forest.


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MarketMarket
Market

Bryce Canyon City
Inspiration PointInspiration Point
Inspiration Point

(now they tell me)


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb