Arches


Advertisement
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After three days in Moab, I've finally been to Arches National Park! I'll be spending a lot of time there in the next few days but decided to take a leisurely drive through the park this afternoon.

Except for the short but uphill hike to view Delicate Arch (I'll hike to it later I'm sure) it was a pretty easy day. I actually slept in and did a few things around the RV before strolling through downtown Moab on my way to Arches.

Once again, I'll just post a few images with some comments there. Thanks for checking in.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

lunch view in Archeslunch view in Arches
lunch view in Arches

I'm going to see about getting some better views to enjoy my lunch! Here's the view I had today in Arches. The Three Gossips, Sheep Rock and part of the Tower of Babel were the formations I gazed at while enjoying my lunch sitting on a rock in the shadow of The Organ.
The Three GossipsThe Three Gossips
The Three Gossips

Here's a slightly different view of the Three Gossips. Notice the rock wall in the background. On the lower right side you will see a small arch.
Tower of BabelTower of Babel
Tower of Babel

This is a full view of the Tower of Babel.
Kilroy was hereKilroy was here
Kilroy was here

A rare photo of ME with the tourist shot of I was here! Yesterday I thought about getting someone to take a photo with me in the foreground, but the times I wanted it no one was around. Today I took a photo for some folks and the lady then asked if she could take one of me and I said YES PLEASE! So here I am in front of The Organ. I guess in hindsight I could get a photo of me most any time I want since I usually have a tripod with me. But for some reason that's never a real priority for me. I guess I'm like most photographers and don't like having my picture taken.
The OrganThe Organ
The Organ

Here's The Organ in a side view. I was standing between the Tower of Babel and The Organ when I took this.
Sheep RockSheep Rock
Sheep Rock

A close up of Sheep Rock.
Balanced RockBalanced Rock
Balanced Rock

I must have taken 30 or more images of Balanced Rock as I walked completely around it. This is one of my favorites but it was hard to choose which one to show.
Delicate ArchDelicate Arch
Delicate Arch

This is Delicate Arch taken on the Upper Delicate Arch Viewpoint trail. It was a great walk UP the hill to gaze at Delicate Arch from 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile away. I used my 70-200 lens and 2x converter to get up close.
Akyline ArchAkyline Arch
Akyline Arch

As usual I didn't expect to be in Arches as long as I was. But I was at the northern end of the road at sunset. The "golden hour" of light just before sunset was MAGNIFICIENT as you can see from this shot of Skyline Arch just before sunset.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb