Grand Tour of Texas: Day 10 Laredo, Padre Island, Corpus Christi


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
December 26th 2010
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Back on Tour!!!!! Day 10!!!!

Cousin Chuy joined me in the car to head down through Zapata, McCallen, Brownsville, and Harlingen. Mostly these cities are nothing of note. Sorry residents!

We reached South Padre Island and braved the high winds that nearly blew us down. Winter on the beach isn't really recommended I guess 😊

We next drove even further to Boca Chica State Park, where the mighty Rio Grande empties out into the Gulf of Mexico. Now I need to see the source of the Rio Grande and I can say I've done good by the river. I should swim across it one of these days, swim back to Mexico hahahahahaha*snort*hahahaha!

We turned on up to Corpus Christi next. We made a quick stop at the Blue Ghost/USS Lexington before we settled in at Victoria, TX. Cousin Chuy treated me to my first Buccee's EVER! And I must say the experience was amazing! Everything a traveller wants is here! Snacks, clean restroom, BBQ, jerky, fudge, sodas, gas, sandwiches....yum!

We stopped at the hotel for the night, ready to head further north into Houston the following morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The Rio Grande RiverThe Rio Grande River
The Rio Grande River

Emptying out into the Gulf of Mexico all the way from the mountains of Colorado.
Corpus ChristiCorpus Christi
Corpus Christi

Posing with the USS Lexington at Night


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb