Day 5


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
May 31st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

DSC02232DSC02232DSC02232

Oil Drill

Oklahoma City --> Albuquerque, New Mexico



So the motel breakfast was crap and we decided to buy breakfast somewhere. So Denny's was right around the corner and it was the first time I ever ate there. The food's alright, the Grand Slam idea is good, service is quick. That's my mini review.

Then we hit the road and headed towards Amarillo, Texas, 4 and a half hours away. We saw some stuff worth mentioning on the way - the first oil drill so far, and a truck pulling a trailer full of v8 racing mowers - haaaahahhaha! We also passed this huuuuge wind farm that stretched for miles on both sides of the road, very cool. We made it there no problem and I had just gotten into the city and my GPS starts telling me to make a left somewhere... so I'm driving along, driving along, and then my dad says "Left" so I spun the wheel around to make a real quick left andddd someone was apparently in another lane that I wasn't even sure existed and they hit me. The dude hit the part right behind my drivers side back tire. My bike went flying -
DSC02241DSC02241DSC02241

Wind Farm
it was kinda funny cause me and my dad were more concerned about my bike than my car lol. It's fine though, you can breathe out now. My car is a little f'ed though. Gonna need some work when we get to the final destination. For now, its nothing duct tape can't fix (hahaha.. ohhh we fit in so well here in the southwest). And luckily, the dude didn't want to call the cops cause his car was kinda fine.. so, sweeeeet, cause it was totally my fault. Not a bad first car accident, all in all.

So by the end of all this we're both starving and I'm like in shock still I needed to just sit down somewhere and chill the f out. Couldn't find anything though so we peaced outa the city, but luckily found an Applebees on the way out. Mudslides cured us and we were once again on our way.

Next stop, Albuquerque. On the way there was this area where before this one exit there were miles and miles of billboards on each side of the road, and out of the corner of my eye I caught this one:

Eat Here! Get Gas!

LOL!!! and so that'll be the quote of the day. Clearly.

We stopped at the visitors center and got some little booklets on stuff to do cause I think we're gonna stay here for a day. I wanna go hiking and get some turquise 😊 . I'll let ya know what we end up doing tomorrow. For now it's breakfast for dinner at the little diner down the road.

Miss you all so bad. Love you.
KeepitReal~


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DSC02253DSC02253
DSC02253

?? is it supposed to lean or is that bad?
DSC02276DSC02276
DSC02276

look at the layers in the mountain. the colors are sweet...
DSC02300DSC02300
DSC02300

Cueerrrvvoooo!
DSC02305DSC02305
DSC02305

I could get used to thisss :)
DSC02316DSC02316
DSC02316

A town!!


1st June 2009

NM
hey allie - im so glad your having a nice trip. sorry about your accident. at least your car is okay or else that would have been horrible problems for the rest of your road trip. more than i can say about my totalled car - yikes! I've been to NM before its an interesting place. from what i remember all the houses were like orange/tan colored stone things that all looked the same. little boxes on the hillsideee. keep in touch, have fun!
2nd June 2009

madi! oh yeahh i saw something you said about your car on faebook... what the hell happened??? no job and no car? shitty mannn i hope everything else is doing alright. New Mexico is surprisingly beautiful actually. Not at all what I expected but I'm pleasantly surprised. Or I was, actually.. I'm in Arizona now. Grand Canyon tomorrow!! should be pretty awesomeee... ill ttys, take care love.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb