Day 44 New Braunfels, Wurstfest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
November 4th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Incredibly talented guy 32 secs
Nov 1
The day after. As it happened Elvis did not leave the building last night since cycling in the dark after too much scotch could have resulted in a bizzare but tragic road accident and possibly a dead king! Thanks again Maureen for fixing me up a bed. Today Lance is in a time trial in Gruene but a mix up over times and locations mean that many people including myself miss the event, I am not too dismayed and pick up my new pedals from Sue's bike shop, which should make the rest of the journey more comfortable.
Tonight is Wurstfest and after I am collected from my motel we set off for an unforgettable evening. Things get off to a slow start but thanks to Gabe we are soon ensconced in the best seats watching the best band. The pitchers of Shiner bock are soon flowing and everyone is up dancing to, believe it or not, accordian music, delivered by an incredibly talented guy. Another great night in New Braunfels thanks to my hosts. I had to take four days off from my journey but I would not have missed this for the world.
One further point, tonight has again added to my continualy rising estimation of Texan folk, they really are down to earth uber friendly people, they know how to play but it never gets out of hand , gracious, polite and just damn good fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



4th November 2008

That incredible band was
The Alex Meixner Band. It was a blast! Have a great next part of your journey. I hope we haven't set the bar too high.
6th November 2008

The Alex Meixner Band
Alex Meixner here, the incredibly talented guy. Had a blast at Wurstfest on Saturday night...had my child not fallen asleep on a beer soaked table we would have stayed for you last performance. I really wish my dad was in town...he's the only one in the family that will polka with me. You are totally wild! I love your "Chicken Dance" on speed! Off to Ohio now!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb