Traveling Through Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
May 29th 2008
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DeerDeerDeer

Just a few of the deer that meander around the campground at Stephen F. Austin State Park in San Felipe, Texas
After a successful visit to Holiday World, the dealership where my motor home gets it’s annual maintenance or MOT as my mother would say; (Ministry of Transportation road test); I checked into Stephen F. Austin State Park in San Felipe, Texas for three nights. The park is about twelve miles from Bellville and was one of our favourites. Set in a very peaceful rural area, there is an abundance of deer and other critters, which although are still skittish meander around the campground. I took the opportunity of being so close to Bellville to visit with some very dear friends, doing my banking and having my own MOT! I was half way to my next stop, Lake Georgetown, before I realized I had never put any pictures of Bellville on my blog. We had lived there for twenty years but I guess being on “home turf” it didn’t occur to me to take any.
The last weekend in May is a long weekend for us (Memorial Day) and is recognized as the first real weekend of the summer when everyone that can get out camping does so. Beverley joined me in Lake Georgetown on Friday afternoon; it’s always good to spend
MimosaMimosaMimosa

This tree was growing in our old neighbourhood in Bellville. When we lived there in the late 80's all the trees were little more than sapplings
a few days with her. She helped me pack up on Monday morning, she went south to Austin and I turned north toward Dallas-Fort Worth. My next stop was Bridgeport, Texas where I planned to stay for four nights while I visited some more very dear friends who live just outside Fort Worth. Garth was one of Wally’s college buddies and worked at Brickor in South Africa with him. Garth joined Acme Brick in 1995; he and his wife Janet have a beautiful home about a half-mile away from another lovely lake. Emmett was Wally’s first boss at Acme, he retired in 1996, and both he and his wife Louise are well into their 80’s now. Louise and I had become firm friends while they lived in the Houston area and we have kept in touch since they moved to this area.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

ViewView
View

This was the view from our campsite in Lake Georgetown
Lake GeorgetownLake Georgetown
Lake Georgetown

This photo was taken of Bev and I as we were doing our early morning walk down by the lake
ShalenaShalena
Shalena

Bev's friend Shalena joined us for the weekend. She's also an outdoor girl so I think she enjoyed her stay in the motor home. She bought us some wonderful Bellville Meat Market Sausage--to be enjoyed later with my friends from the U.K.
CactusCactus
Cactus

Couldn't leave Texas without a picture of cactus. I know that most folks all over the world believe that Texas is full of nothing but cactus and cattle, truth is it really isn't so.
BridgeportBridgeport
Bridgeport

This is Lake Bridgeport. The campground is called a "Preserve" because they keep it as natural as possible, only mowing the grass in areas where people are going to walk (or should be!)


2nd June 2008

Great pics. Summer heat wave coming down there yet? Good reason to stay close to the water!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb