Rough Week


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Salina
June 20th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left Bridgeport, Texas with everything going fine. As I pulled into Oklahoma City the motor home backfired and lost power, then it picked up again and off I went. I figured I had got some bad gas (petrol). I met up with Tony Neeves for a very pleasant afternoon in Guthrie, which is about thirty miles north of Oklahoma City. Tony retired recently and has just bought himself a BEAUTIFUL Mercedes, which I enjoyed seeing. We talked about the backfiring and decided that a tank full of premium gas might be just what the vehicle needed. So the next morning (Saturday) I set off; hadn’t gone very far when the coach started backfiring again, so I pulled off at the next exit and put $205 worth of premium gas into the tank. 50 miles down the road the back-firing got worse and the coach lost a lot of power so I pulled over to the shoulder of the highway and called my road-help company. I was 90 miles north of Oklahoma City, but they sent a tow truck and towed me back there. The repair facility was open and able to check out the motor home that afternoon, so I was hopeful that I could get back on the road by dark…..no luck, one of the modules in the computer had gone. They couldn’t order the part until Monday morning so it was Tuesday before they got to work on the coach. Tuesday afternoon I pulled out-- but just around the block, my beautiful motor home sounded like a TRACTOR! I was pretty upset when I walked back in there; “oh, it has an exhaust leak but when you get where you are going just go into a Chevrolet dealership and they’ll take care of you.” I was beside myself and insisted they fix it, which they did. It was 7 p.m. before I got to leave there but the coach was fixed and I pulled back into the same park I had been in four nights earlier.
Wednesday morning I got an early start and headed for Salina, Kansas. My plan was to check into a campground and then go to Abilene to visit the Eisenhower Museum and Library. Everything went great and I thoroughly enjoyed the museum which I have detailed in my next blog.


Advertisement



21st June 2008

Betcha
I bet those guys caused the exhaust leak. New vehicles do not have leaky exhausts! Then they wanted to pass the buck. Anyhow it turned out well at the end.

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.2kb