Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
October 20th 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Matt playing TitonkaMatt playing TitonkaMatt playing Titonka

Caprock National Park, TX
Our first night in Texas we stayed at Caprock National Park, right outside of Turkey, TX. We cooked spaghetti and bread for dinner and spent the night by the campfire. We are getting pretty good at the whole camping thing! The only bad things about this night were the bugs and the wind. The bugs were so loud that I was awake about 3 hours before sunrise. . . of course Matt slept through it all!

The next morning we got up and drove to Rikk and Dianne’s house outside of Crowell, TX. (Nate’s aunt and uncle). I didn’t think I’d ever be able to get Matt away from there. Not only to Rikk and Dianne make Matt a ridiculous amount of food, but they have over 1,000 acres that include 9 tanks to fish in and fields to hunt dove. Matt also found his “new calling” as a farmer on the trip. He pretty sure he knows everything about farming after 4 days of watching Dianne plow the fields  I think he as a little more to learn!

We spent the four days helping to get the tractor ready to go in the morning and shoveling grain
Real TatonkaReal TatonkaReal Tatonka

Caprock National Park, TX
into the drill so Dianne could sow the wheat. Then Matt and I got to go fishing (I caught more than Matt on this trip) and hunting in the evening. I shot my first dove! I’m not convinced that hunting is my new thing, but I had a good time.

We got to try the “best hamburger in the world” and eat a ton of food prepared by Rikk and Dianne. The food was great and the company was even better. We can’t wait to see them again.

After 4 days on the farm we drove to Ranger, TX to say with Matt’s great Aunt Ollie. It great to finally meet her after hearing good things for so long. We walked around the property and tried to fish. Aunt Ollie has tanks with fish and dove as well. Matt is now convinced we need to move to Texas, I’m not sure that would work 

After we left Aunt Ollie’s house we drove to the Dinosaur National Park to see the Dinosaur footprint in the stream Bank. The park didn’t take long to go through but is was really cool to be able to step in the old dinosaur tracks. We drove a few more hours and found a nice little campsite next to Mexia Lake, about 30 miles east of Waco, TX. We got up the next morning and we were off to New Orleans to spend a few nights on Bourbon St.

PS. We have gone back and added picture to the past entries and added some of the stops I missed. Most importantly, our stop in Roswell, NM.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Me and my doveMe and my dove
Me and my dove

Crowell, TX
Rikk and DianneRikk and Dianne
Rikk and Dianne

Crowell, TX
Dinosaur footprintsDinosaur footprints
Dinosaur footprints

Dinosaur National Park
Matt's "Hair Party"Matt's "Hair Party"
Matt's "Hair Party"

Somewhere in Texas


24th October 2007

Awesome!!
Sounds like you are having an amazing time so far, seeing sites that you normally wouldn't see. Have an awesome time in New Orleans. You should definitely check out the original Cafe Du Monde and have some beignets. It's cute spot they have sugar all over the floor from the french donuts. I don't know if you were planning on going there or not, but try to if you have time.
3rd November 2007

hehe
You two are so silly! And I can't believe you shot a Dove Elyse! I hope you guys have an amazing time out of the country! So far all the pics look like a ton of fun! and I really hope you guys write that book! *Hugs* =)

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb