San Antonio, Texas Day Trip 2007


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
June 30th 2007
Published: February 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

The McNay Art MuseumThe McNay Art MuseumThe McNay Art Museum

The museum is the former home of Marion McNay.
I was at the San Antonio Tower of the Americas once back in 2004 but freaked out due to the million kids running around at the top observatory deck. I could literally feel the tower shake and images of a collapsing tower flashed in my mind. Screw it! I told myself and headed to the elevator to head back to firmer ground. Such is the nature of my extreme fear of heights.

This was my second attempt at conquering it so I dragged Tony out one Saturday to head down to San Antonio for a day of Art and Food and Scary Friggin' Heights.

Our first stop was the McNey Art Museum nestled within a great little neighborhood. The museum if located at the former home of Marion Koogler McNey and it houses her vast collection of modern art. It is considered the first modern art museum in Texas. The place is a must for fans of modern art with such notable artists as Paul Cézanne, Pablo Picasso, Paul Gauguin, Henri Matisse, Georgia O’Keeffe, Diego Rivera, Mary Cassatt, and Edward Hopper. That's quite a treasure chest of names! A second reason to go is to just see a nice
Monet on DisplayMonet on DisplayMonet on Display

Waterlillies....mmmmmmm.
mansion and pretend you lived there. As I was walking around thoughts such as, "Hmmm and this could be the TV room and maybe that could be the kitty room," flashed within my mind.

I was excited to see an actual Modigliani portrait since he paints my all-time favorite portrait. Also seeing some fruits by Cezanne was fascinating since he paints my all-time favorite fruits. They always look so delicious. I want to reach over and eat them. Monet's water lilies were also a treat to watch.

Next, we headed over to the San Antonio Museum of Art for a quick run through the museum. They have a nice collection of Eastern art but I will admit it isn't one of my favorite styles. Still, the art was interesting to look at.

Afterwards we headed over to the Tower of the Americas to finally conquer my fear of heights and have a meal. Originally built for the '68 World's Fair, the Tower stands between 550 feet to 600 feet, depending on what observation deck you're standing on. After some sight seeing at the top we decided to have a bite to eat at the restaurant. I had
ModiglianiModiglianiModigliani

He probably paints some of my favorite portraits next to Van Gogh.
some expensive catfish and shrimp meal. Tony had steak. The restaurant revolves as you eat and its quite a sight...unless you are terrified of heights, which I am. So I slowly ate my catfish and watched as the tower rotated to the city and then to the vast flatness of a south Texas that never ends.

To sum it up: McNey Art Museum is a great place for modern art lovers, San Antonio Museum of Art a great place for Eastern Art, and the Tower of the Americas is a lousy place to get rid of your fear of heights.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

CezanneCezanne
Cezanne

These fruits look dee-licious!
San Antonio Museum of Art #2San Antonio Museum of Art #2
San Antonio Museum of Art #2

Tony being a culturally insensitive dork.
San Antonio Museum of Art #3San Antonio Museum of Art #3
San Antonio Museum of Art #3

Standing on the bridge between the two buildings of the museum, trying to stay calm. I hate heights.
Tower of the AmericasTower of the Americas
Tower of the Americas

The tower rises 750 feet into the air.
Tower of the Americas #2Tower of the Americas #2
Tower of the Americas #2

The tower was completed for the 1968 World's Fair.
View of San Antonio From the TowerView of San Antonio From the Tower
View of San Antonio From the Tower

I really hate heights but I make myself do it.
Having Dinner at the TopHaving Dinner at the Top
Having Dinner at the Top

Trying to relax and eat at the revolving restaraunt at the top of the tower.
Having Dinner at the Top #2Having Dinner at the Top #2
Having Dinner at the Top #2

Tony is obviously more at ease.
Having Dinner at the Top #3Having Dinner at the Top #3
Having Dinner at the Top #3

The most expensive catfish I have ever had.
Having Dinner at the Top #4Having Dinner at the Top #4
Having Dinner at the Top #4

Yes, I just made Tony sit there while I ate my meal. Bwahahahaha! Just kidding, he finished a lot earlier than I did. I was too nervous.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb