day 3 - Emporia, KS >> San Antonio, TX


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
December 4th 2006
Published: December 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

road 1road 1road 1

The Texas Motor Speedway.
Day 3 - Emporia, KS >> San Antonio, TX

Yahooo, yippee 150km down the Kansas Turnpike, I was in heaven, (I do believe I was a race car driver in my previous life, Sandy can attest to that). Nebraska and Oklahoma again were pain free, exiting free, but not snow free. I believe it was about 30miles north of the Texas state border when we finally could not find anymore snow and believe me I was looking as I just could not believe that snow could travel this far south.

30miles (30miles is 30minutes of driving = half an hour = you can drive 100km per hour) = +/- 50km, therefore 30miles = +/- 50km

don't ask 😊 we did not know the conversion so I had to make up my own.

We grossly under estimated the drive to San Antonio, OK I did, we, no I thought it was about 2300km were did I get that info? The first day we drove about 600km the second day 1000km, 2300 minus 1600 is 700, so on our third day it should have been a leisurely 700km drive. Lets try this again according to my dad, a farmer,
road 2road 2road 2

This building is bigger then any stadium I have seen and we just came from the Kansis City ArrowHead stadium.
it is about 2300km but that is using the minor hwys and routes going through the small country towns, cattle auctions, cows grazing and locals having a coffee and waving at you. This 2300km route would be litterly be straight down a USA map. We on the other hand thought it was quicker to stay on the interstate I#29 and I#35. We would be able to drive faster but of course also going further out east and out of the way to get to San Antonio. So we drove like maniacs, no like professional race car drivers through Witchita, Oklahoma city, Ft Worth, Waco and Austin to get to San Antonio by 9:30pm. We swear no one, and we mean no one obeys the speed limits here, it shows the max limit is 65 at night down from 75 during the day but we were still going 130km, or 75 at night and we still had cars and semi trailers passing us.

Mom and dads first reaction was "what took you guys so long" well that was a great start for a long drive down to Megico 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

road 3road 3
road 3

Austin city overpasses, mmmmm Portage and Main could use this.
road 4road 4
road 4

cont'd


21st December 2006

Jenn's a driver
so, based on your milage calculations and your map navigation, you're right, you must have been a race car driver in another life - since you should only be on a closed loop track!!! hahahahaaa. just teasing. glad you made it, looking forward to the next update.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb