Texas Indepedence Trail Day 5: Galveston and San Jacinto


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
March 14th 2013
Published: February 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Texas Independence Trail Day 5!!!!

I just wanted to get to the sunrise part of my day 😊

I spent so much time in Corpus and never saw the sunrise over the gulf. So it was a special occasion for me. So with half sleepy eyes and a cold breeze I stood and watched it creep behind the waters. First a lightening shade. Then a small ray. Afterwards a small poke of sun. And finally it began. I stayed there until the sun was fully out from behind the horizon. It sure was pretty 😊

Surfside Beach, TX is mostly a resort town. You rent beach houses and have fun in the sand and surf. But I didn't stay around for that. I drove onto the barrier island and drove my way to Galveston. The day was clear and bright. I arrived at Galveston and took a stroll through the sea wall. It was put in place to prevent another catastrophe like the Galveston Hurricane of the early 1900s. Not sure it held up much during Hurricane Rita though.

While walking the wall I smelled a rotten stench. I approached the stench and it was the dead body of a dolphin, bloated and rotting on the rocks, its death grin mocking me. Why mocking me? Because at that time, Colby was in Ireland watching a beautiful rainbow overlooking the valley on the Dingle Peninsula in Ireland. That could of been me!

I drove around Galveston for a bit. I think you really need to just spend two days here and do the touristy stuff. I wasn't in the mood for touristy today. So I just drove around and took a look at some of the historic mansions such as the Moody Mansion and the Bishop's Palace.

I saw the statue marking the Juneteenth Announcement that eventually got to Texas proclaiming all the slaves to be freed men.

Then headed to San Jacinto to celebrate Texas Independence!

The San Jacinto Monument parks the spot where Sam Houston led the Texas army against Santa Anna and the Mexican forces. Prickly Sam Houston bested Santa Anna and the Texas Republic was born. Yay Texas!

Right next to the monument is Battleship Texas. I arrived to late to explore its insides but it was still a wonder to behold. Its wider and bigger than I remember it. But I am reaching that point in all my travels where I just miss my cat and want to go home. Its always a bittersweet feeling. I start caring less and less about where I am going. I have one final day tomorrow though. So that should be good.

The Story So Far:

-Great Galveston Hurricane

-Moody Mansion

-Juneteenth Announcement (Civil War)

-San Jacinto Monument (Texas Independence)

-Battleship Texas (World War 2)


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb